Skip to main content

Numismatics: Home

The premier research library for the study of Numismatics in Oxford University is the Sackler Library, which incorporates the former library of the Heberden Coin Room of the Ashmolean Museum.
Subjects: Numismatics

Contacts

Diane Bergman
tel: +44 (0)1865 278089
email: diane.bergman@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Guides to PCAS: printing, copying & scanning facilities in the Bodleian Libraries

Everything you need to know about PCAS can be found here: http://libguides.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/iskills

Other links

Bodleian iSkills Workshops: These workshops are aimed at researchers, academic staff, research students and librarians from across the University.

Research and Resources Guides -  a wide range of research, resource and library guides are available from our  LibGuides service.

Collection overview, Key resources etc

The premier research library for the study of Numismatics in Oxford University is the Sackler Library, which incorporates the former library of the Heberden Coin Room of the Ashmolean Museum. The Bodleian Library is an additional resource especially for rare and manuscript material.          


Gold coin of Vespasian, c. AD 70 (Ashmolean Museum LI997.1)

Libraries & Reading Rooms: Principal collections

The Sackler Library is home to the main research collections in Numismatics as well as Old World Archaeology, and Art History. Included is a large number of numismatic sales catalogues arranged according to the Cambridge System.

The majority of books in the Sackler Library are on open shelves. Many of the books and periodicals in the collection may be borrowed, although major reference works and all Eastern and Western Art books are confined to the library.

The Bodleian Library has, by virtue of its copyright library status, accumulated a comprehensive collection of books in the field of British Numismatics. Most of this material is not located on open access.

Libraries & Reading Rooms: Associated collections

A small collection of mostly reference books is housed in the Heberden Coin Room of the Ashmolean Museum.

Important eResources

A useful resource for Numismatics-related websites is Intute: Arts and Humanities.

The following institutional websites contain useful information:

American Numismatic Society

Coins & Medals Department, Fitzwilliam Museum, University of Cambridge

Oxford University e-Journals, Oxford's electronic journal management system provides access to the Numismatics periodicals to which the University has online subscriptions.

Digital Library Numis

Roman Provincial Coinage Online

Related Oxford University Sites

Subject Guide

Diane Bergman
Contact:
Sackler Library
1 St John Street
Oxford OX1 2LG
UK
+44 1865 278 089
Skype Contact