Databases contain large amounts of data including (but not limited to) statistics, bibliographic information, images and abstracts.
Bibliographic databases are a useful tool for finding scholarly literature in your subject area. This includes (but is not limited to) journal articles, conference proceedings and books. They are very useful to consult when carrying out your own research because:
Bibliographic databases are helpful when you want to start exploring beyond your reading list or are researching a new topic.
On this page you will find recommended databases and guidance on how to search for and access databases.
A collection of structured and organised data that is stored, searched and accessed electronically.
A searchable platform that contains descriptive records of articles, books, conference proceedings, audio-visual material, maps, newspapers, and more.
Used to refer to a bibliographic database, the service provides abstracts of publications.
Used to refer to a bibliographic database, the service provides descriptors to help organise and navigate publications.
This means you can read the item in full from beginning to end, not just the abstract or summary.
Oxford subscribes to lots of databases you can use for free. You will likely find you need to use several databases for a thorough search of your subject area. The tabs at the top of this section take you to key databases for Slavonic and East European Studies, via a link to the database record in SOLO. If you are logged in to SOLO, you can click through to the database from the SOLO record.
You can also search for specific databases via SOLO. Note, some key texts may be available via a database but not individually listed on SOLO.
For those seeking advice on accessing databases, we recommend the following guides:
Below are key bibliographic databases applicable to those studying Slavonic and East European Studies at Oxford.
Depending on the database provider, you may need to use your Oxford Single Sign On to access materials. If the database is paid for by Oxford University, the link will take you to the SOLO catalogue record; you can click through to the database from this record.
Below are key databases applicable to those studying Slavonic and East European Studies at Oxford that provide resources beyond purely bibliographic data.
Depending on the database provider, you may need to use your Oxford Single Sign On to access materials. The link will take you to the catalogue record in SOLO. You can click through to the resource from the record.
To browse a list of databases for Slavonic and East European Studies, follow the links below, which take you through to Databases A-Z.