Psychology: Home

Gain access to informative health literature with CINAHL, the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, this database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains:

Indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982.

Over 250,000 records.

Abstracts for over 250 journals, including over 450 author-supplied abstracts.

Indexing for journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, pamphlets, educational software packages and audiovisual material.

Internal subject thesaurus with over 7,000 terms—2,000 unique to CINAHL.

MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine; Nursing; Dentistry; Veterinary medicine; Allied health; Pre-clinical sciences.

The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus,Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.

The Ovid MEDLINE database contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and in 70 other countries. The database contains well over 13 million citations dating back to 1950, including more than 130,000 population-related journal citations (unique to the former POPLINE database) that were added to MEDLINE in October of 2002. Although coverage is worldwide, most records are derived from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Abstracts are included for more than 75% of the records.

PsycINFO provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioural, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier. Dissertations constitute approximately 12% of the database. APA is currently adding approximately 8,100,000 references annually through weekly updates.

PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text. PMC contains more than 1.5 million articles, most of which have a corresponding entry in PubMed. See the PMC Journal List for a list of currently available journals. For more information go to PubMed Central FAQ

Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers over 25,000 journals and over 300,000 books from over 7,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 90 million records going back as far as the 18th century.

It includes the content from a number of other major databases: Medline (medicine) 1966 - , Embase (medicine) 1970 - , Compendex (engineering) 1970 - , Geobase (geography) 1980 - .