Pathology: Home

Embase is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database bringing together the literature in drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. It indexes over 3,500 international journals, including many important journals from Europe and Asia not found in other biomedical databases. Coverage dates from 1974. Updated weekly. Approximately 375,000 records are added yearly.

Talks cover a wide range of biomedical science topics, including the design and analysis of randomised clinical trials, epigenetics, frontiers of research in autoimmunity, neurodegenerative diseases, stem cells and regenerative medicine, and psychopharmacogenetics.

They are billed as "... up-to-the-minute briefings in a user friendly, seminar-style presentation format" commissioned from leading experts in their field to bring you a balanced range of well-researched information covering both the fundamentals and the latest thinking…” The target audience is "research scientists, graduate students, and the most committed senior undergraduates".

They consist of navigable slides plus accompanying audio narration synchronised for ease of listening, just like a research seminar. You need FlashPlayer on your workstation, with either headphones or a (discreet!) sound system.

MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: Medicine; Nursing; Dentistry; Veterinary medicine; Allied health; Pre-clinical sciences.

The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus,Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.

The Ovid MEDLINE database contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and in 70 other countries. The database contains well over 13 million citations dating back to 1950, including more than 130,000 population-related journal citations (unique to the former POPLINE database) that were added to MEDLINE in October of 2002. Although coverage is worldwide, most records are derived from English-language sources or have English abstracts. Abstracts are included for more than 75% of the records.

PubMed provides a publically accessible database of publications predominately focused upon biomedical sciences. Material covered in the database includes journal articles, conference proceedings, case reports, clinical trial reports and systematic reviews.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE as well as:

* The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.

* Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.

* Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

We have linked our e-Journals to PubMed. This means that when you view an article on this version of PubMed you will know whether you can read it straight away and without having to check on a different website.

Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers over 25,000 journals and over 300,000 books from over 7,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 90 million records going back as far as the 18th century.