League of Nations: Links to archives, personal papers and guides

From the United Nations Archives, Geneva

From the United Nations Office Geneva.

N.B. This collection is housed at Nuffield College please contact library-archives@nuffield.ox.ac.uk

Papers accumulated by Sir Arthur Cowley as a member of library sub-committees of the International Committee of Intellectual Co-operation of the League of Nations.

was one of the originators of the League of Nations, and Chairman of the League of Nations Society. The collection includes papers and pamphlets by Dickinson and others, and papers of the League of Nations Society and the League to Enforce Peace.

Vice President of the League of Nations Society from 1916,[29] and acted in 1921/2 as a League delegate for South Africa.
Bodleian Library Special Collections.

From 1922 to 1936 Dealtry was a member of the Permanent Mandates Commission of the League of Nations. He was a member of the international slavery committees of 1924-1925 and 1932

Diaries, notes and papers relating to broadcasts and the academic career of Dame Margery Perham, the first official and female fellow of Nuffield College, Oxford. The papers relate to a wide range of colonial subjects including the Africa Bureau, aid and development, Anti-Slavery Society, economy, education, Fabian Colonial Bureau, League of Nations and United Nations, and span geographically from Africa, Asia, Middle East, South America, Australasia, and Oceania.
For information on access please email: specialcollections.enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Papers and correspondence, mainly relating to his work for international peace, including papers concerning the League of Nations, UNESCO, Zimmern's Geneva School of International Studies, the Hartford (Connecticut) Study Center, and the Greater Hartford Council for UNESCO, with lectures, articles and broadcasts by Zimmern, and printed pamphlets and periodicals containing articles by him. Bodleian Library Special Collections.
For information on access please email: specialcollections.enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

National Archives guide - some documents available in full text.

The Franklin D. Roosevelt Library is a presidential library administered by the National Archives and Records Administration. The Library houses the personal papers of the President and Mrs. Roosevelt created before, during and after the presidency, as well as the records and papers of other various organizations and individuals associated with Roosevelts

Centenary of the International Committee on Intellectual Cooperation. International Conference May 2022. Has a bibliography of publications on the ICIC

Over 9000 documents are returned relating to the League of Nations when searching under the A-Z title index for League of Nations.

This guide will help you find records at The National Archives relating to the origins, establishment and consequences of the League of Nations.

Created by historians at Heidelberg University , the LONSEA database illustrates the history of international organisations and global governance. Its focus is the material collected by the League of Nations on the proceedings of international activities from 1919 to 1946

From: Northwestern Universities Library (An archived webpage)

1918-1971

National Library of Scotland completed a digitization project of League publications in Economics and Finance, Health, International Law, Armament, Intellectual Cooperation, and more

Many articles on the League of Nations can be found in contemporary newspapers. Guide to searching the newspapers collections held by the Bodleian Libraries

A useful guide from Houser Global Law Program, written by Gabriela Femenia

Microfilm collection of documentation deals with the role of the League of Nations, in particular with regard to the problem of Jewish refugees in Nazi Germany, c1938-1939. The papers include minutes, agenda, reports and memoranda of the Refugees Committee of the League of Nations

A large amount of material is now accessible via the e-Library, to include, speeches, newspaper articles, cartoons and papers of other prominent politicians.

The World Peace Foundation was established by Edwin Ginn, a Boston-based publisher of educational texts and an advocate for international peace. Created initially as the International School of Peace on July 12, 1910, the WPF was tasked with educating a global audience about the ills of war and promoting international peace.