The majority of books held by the Bodleian Libraries, in both physical and electronic formats, can be searched via SOLO. On this page you will find recommended books, guidance on how to search for and access print and ebooks, and libraries in the University that might be relevant for your studies and research.
Use the tabs above for further guidance.
Both the collections of the Bodleian Law Library (LawBod) and the Social Science Library (SSL) are fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford University's online resource discovery tool. Please pay attention to the results of your SOLO searches when it comes to location!
For those wishing to learn more about using SOLO for searching, saving favourites and more, we recommend the following guide
Law for Sale by 
Behavioral Law and Economics by 
Investment Banking: institutions, politics, and law by 
Courts, Regulators, and the Scrutiny of Economic Evidence by Tips for successful subject searching in SOLO
In some instances, regulation can be used as part of the subject string eg Trade regulation or Foreign trade regulation
If you are interested in the regulation of a specific sectors try adding (according to which best reflect your research interests) one or other of these elements Law and legislation / Government policy / State supervision / Economic aspects / in some instances perhaps even Safety regulations to the sector or industry.
For example:
Financial Services Industry -- law and legislation
Financial institutions -- law and legislation;
International Finance law and legislation;
Investment banking
Investment advisors Legal status, laws, etc
Financial risk management
Professional sports -- law and legislation;
Public utilities -- Law and legislation;
Public utilities -- Government policy;
Public utilities -- Economic aspects;
Public utilities --State supervision
Finally, consider whether adding a geographic filter might be good: eg Great Britain; or European Union Countries; or United States etc. The Shelf arrangement tab in this box will help you find find the right part of the library - and always feel free to ask for directions from the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 when you are in the Law Library.
Brexit and Financial Regulation by 
Regulating Corporate Governance in the EU by Comparative works held in the Bodleian Law Library have shelf marks beginning General or Cw Gen.
There is no subject classification within these shelf marks, books are arranged alphabetically by the last name of author/editor.
The current collections are on Level 2, the level at which you enter the library.
The Oxford Handbook of Regulation by 
The Oxford Handbook of Financial Regulation by 
Principles of Financial Regulation by Courts, Regulators, and the Scrutiny of Economic Evidence by Looking for a Law Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. These books are held behind the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Whenever you would like to read one (or more) of these please come to the Enquiry Desk - with your University or Reader's Card - and ask for a copy. They will be issued to you to read in the library. You may keep them for the rest of day - but we do ask you to return them to the Desk as soon as you have finished consulting them.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course),
Better Regulation by 
Handbook on the Politics of Regulation by The Law Library collection is over four floors.
Level 2 (the entrance level)
The KB-KN range of shelf marks has books relating to the domestic legal systems of the jurisdictions of the British Isles, Australia, Canada, NZ and USA.
The Moys (K shelf mark) system is the subject classification used: for example KN308- KN309 is the shelf mark range for works on financial regulation.
In the Law Bod, books on the law of England & Wales/UK (our home jurisdiction) are shelved first. Then come the books from the above mentioned common law jurisdictions, grouped country by country.
In the majority of cases, the shelf marks of books relating to these foreign jurisdictions have a distinguishing feature: the third line is either a familiar abbreviation of the country name (eg AUS), or a combination of Capital Letter/Number (eg A8) - as shown in table below.
A8 or AUS Australia
C1 or CAN Canada
G8 or GUE Guernsey
I5 or IRL Ireland
I7 or IOM Isle of Man
J2 or JER Jersey
N4 or NZL New Zealand
N8 or NIR Northern Ireland
S3 or SCT Scotland
U4 or USA United States
W1 or WLS Wales
Comparative works have shelf marks beginning General or Cw Gen. There is no subject classification within these shelf marks, books are arranged alphabetically by the last name of author/editor.
Level 3 one floor above the entrance level.
This has books from
European jurisdictions divided into national collection with intuitive shelf marks. For example books on French law have shelf marks beginning France, on Spanish Law, Spain. There is no subject classification within these shelf marks, books are arranged alphabetically by the last name of author/editor.
European Union law The shelf mark begins Euro Comm. There is no subject classification within these shelf marks, books are arranged alphabetically by the last name of author/editor.
Public International Law The shelf marks begin Internat
Private International Law The shelf marks begin Private Int
The EU, the WTO and China Legal Pluralism and International Trade Regulation by The SSL's collection is shelved on one floor, following the Library of Congress Classification scheme.
In contrast to the Law Library, it has a lending collection.
The British Regulatory State : high modernism and hyper-innovation by 
Extending Experimentalist Governance? : the European Union and transnational regulation by 
Leveling the Playing Field transnational regulatory integration and development by If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library request service.