Oxford LibGuides: New Zealand : legal resources: Legislation

New Zealand legislation

Legislation (Official Versions) Regulations 2015 EIF 5 January 2016: hyper text markup language (HTML) versions of legislation on the New Zealand Legislation website declared official by the Chief Parliamentary Counsel, as well as the PDF format version.

New Zealand Legislation
Free & Official website providing authoritative versions of current legislation, historic versions etc.
New Zealand Acts as enacted
Free resource provided by NZLII. 1841-2007. Note: the text is as the act was originally promulgated.

Lexis+ UK
NOTE The LawBod's subscription does NOT include access to the full text of NZ legislation. Butterworths Current Law is a fortnightly publication which notes, inter alia, statutory developments.
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included

New Zealand Parliament: Bills
Official website Lists "bills before the House and its committees, and provides access to more detailed information about each one." Bill Digest (the briefing notes for the MPs) are available as are links to the debates in the chamber and reports of committees.
Other instruments (including former Deemed Regulations)(NZ)
Official website. Other Instruments, in the context of the New Zealand Legislation website, are instruments that are made under Acts or the Royal prerogative and that may have legislative effect, but are not Legislative Instruments.
Some Other Instruments were previously known as deemed regulations."
more...less...
They are made by Ministers, officials, or organisations, rather than the Executive Council on the recommendation of Cabinet. Examples include most land transport rules, civil aviation rules, and a wide variety of other rules, codes, and other instruments. They are not usually drafted by the PCO.
Web feeds from NZ Legislation
Free resource. Use one of the set up RSS feeds eg All new Acts published in the last 30 days or All consolidated Acts and Regulations published in the last 30 days or construct your own RSS feed to suit your particular interest.

If you want to find the debates relating to a recent Bill, then the Parliament Bills webpages have done the hard work for you with related links down the right hand column!

Hansard (NZ)
Official website From 2003.Here you can read the official report of debates in the House of Representatives. If you’re a regular user, you may notice some changes. For example:

draft, corrected, and final versions of Hansard are now published here, all in the same place
oral questions are now published here, not on a separate page
all content is displayed under the sitting day (click the + sign to expand)
Check out our guide on how to search and use Hansard
Find legislative statements on the Current Papers page

Printed resources

For current legislation please use one of the electronic sources mentioned above.
Our print collection is of use for historic research, and for those interested in the text of acts as originally promulgated, or amended only to 2006. It is on Level 1.

New Zealand statutes (1841- )	Cw New Z 010
Reprinted Statutes of NZ (1979-2004)	Cw New Z 030 1979
New Zealand Statutes Reprint (1908-1957)	Cw New Z 030 1957

Statutory Regulations (1936-1983)	Cw New Z 90

Butterworths later LexisNexis Annotations to the NZ statutes (last updated 2006)	Cw New Z 075 1982

Changes in terminology

Due to legislative changes made by the Legislation Act 2012 Deemed Regulations have been renamed Other Instruments. Statutory Regulations have been renamed Legislative Instruments.

Thanks to Steph Carr of Auckland University for the information.

Glossary (NZ legislation)
Official website Section of the Legislation.govt.nz website. " Please note that this page is not intended to give complete definitions of these terms, but rather is to help the general user by explaining how the terms are used in the context of this website"

Law reform and public consutation in NZ

Law Commission (NZ)
Official website. Includes bibliographic database of its publications, many of which are also available to download free. As these are offered in pdf format some may take a while to download.
NZ Law Commission Have your say
Section of official website. Explanation of the submission procedure

The LawBod's holdings of New Zealand Law Commission Reports & Discussion Papers are at KL.178

Justce sector & policy NZ
Section of the official NZ Ministry of Justice website "the lead organisation for government agencies involved in the justice sector. We produce policy advice to the Government on justice legislation and New Zealand’s constitution. We also provide advice to the Minister of Justice, the Associate Minister of Justice, the Minister for Courts, the Attorney General and the Minister for Treaty of Waitangi negotiations."
NZ Ministry of Justice: Consultation Hub
Part of official ministry website

Text on topic

Statute law in New Zealand by Burrows & Carter
Call Number: KL36.N4.BUR 2009
ISBN: 9780408719230
Publication Date: 4th ed., 2009