Oxford LibGuides: Comparative law: study & application: Private international law

Private International Law or Conflict of Laws

Key online resources
Books & ebooks

Considers questions of jurisdiction, choice of law in cross-border cases, and the recognition and enforcement of foreign jurisdiction

Oxford Legal Research Library: Private International Law (PRIL)
Remote access requires Oxford SSO. Online access includes Cheshire, North, and Fawcett on Private International Law, Briggs: Agreements on Jurisdiction and Choice of Law, and Raphael: The Anti-Suit Injunction.

Westlaw books
Requires Oxford SSO. Includes Dicey and Morris on Conflict of Laws.

A searchable database of over 300 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters).
i-Law
This resource requires you to register before use. Dispute Resolution collection includes Briggs Civil Jurisdiction and Judgments

Alternative name:

Access Lloyd’s Law Reports; Lloyd’s Maritime & Commercial Law Quarterly; and Dispute Resolution service including Briggs’ Civil Jurisdiction.
Register for access using your Oxford email address. From the i-Law home page, select "Login" and then "Register here".

Encyclopedia of Private International Law
Remote access requires Oxford SSO. Edited by Jürgen Basedow (director, Max Planck Institute for Comparative and International Private Law, Germany, and Membre associé, Institut de droit International), Giesela Rühl (professor, Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Germany), Franco Ferrari (professor, New York University School of Law, USA), Pedro de Miguel Asensio (professor, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain).

Useful sites on the free web:

JURE case-law
Part of Eur-Lex. "JURE stands for jurisdiction, recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters."
Conflict of Laws.net: news and views on private international law
Blog officially associated with the Journal of Private International Law (J Priv Int L)

To do a subject search in SOLO, use the exact phrase Conflict of laws.

To this you could add a jurisdiction eg Conflict of laws - Brazil.

Alternatively, if your starting point is rather a legal topic/area, you could see if SOLO could find you anything via eg Conflict of laws - Arbitration and Award.

For books on this subject you may need to travel round the Law Bod, to both the Private Int collection on Level 3, and/or the collections for particular jurisdictions. Please feel free to ask for directions from the Law Enquiry Desk!

The Conflict of Laws by Adrian Briggs
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this via title link

ISBN: 9780198895527

Publication Date: 5th edn, 2024
Private International Law in English Courts by Adrian Briggs
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link

ISBN: 9780192868145

Publication Date: 2nd edn, 2023

Print copy is at Private Int 510 B853.8d2
A Conflict of Laws Companion: essays in honour of Adrian Briggs by Andrew Dickinson (Editor); Edwin Peel (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.

ISBN: 9780198868958

Publication Date: 2021

Print copy is at Private Int 510 B853.8yD if preferred
Research Methods in Private International Law by Xandra Kramer (Editor); Laura Carballo Piñeiro (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.

ISBN: 9781800375529

Publication Date: 2024
Philosophical Foundations of Private International Law by Michael S. Green, Ralf Michaels, Roxana Banu eds
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this book online via title link

ISBN: 9780192858771

Publication Date: 2024
Diversity and Integration in Private International Law by Verónica Ruiz Abou-Nigm (Editor); Maria Blanca Noodt Taquela (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.

ISBN: 9781474447850

Publication Date: 2019