Oxford LibGuides: Korea (RoK) : legal resources: Constitution

Constitution

The Constitution of the Republic of Korea of July 17, 1948 has since had a number of amendments.

Oxford Constitutions of the World
Alternative names: OCW ; Constitutions of the countries of the world, Constitutions of dependencies & territories

English translations of the constitutions and constitutional documents of the world’s nations and sub-national jurisdictions.
HeinOnline
Includes World Constitutions Illustrated
Alternative names: Hein Online ; HOL

HeinOnline includes five major collections:
The Law Journal Library includes over 500 U.S., U.K., Australian and International Law Journals. For most journals the date coverage starts very early (in many cases at the first issue). However the most recent editions (within the last calendar year) are sometime unavailable due to licensing restrictions. HeinOnline makes these journals available on a rolling yearly basis.
The Treaties and Agreements Library includes all U.S. treaties and agreements including those in force, expired or yet to be published.
The U.S. Supreme Court Library includes all U.S. Supreme Court opinions as published in the U.S. Reports
The Federal Register 1936-1995, and indexes to the register.
Legal Classics Library. Full text of over 100 legal texts including Blackstone's Commentaries (1803), Cardozo's Growth of the Law (1924), and Story's first edition of Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (1833). Provincial Statutes of Canada includes Provincial Statutes for ten of the Canadian provinces. Contains public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is now available for Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario. Historical and revised content only is available for Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
All content consists of scanned images of the original printed editions. This allows you to view the content as it originally appeared in print complete with page numbers and pictures.
To save or print articles from HeinOnline choose PRINT OPTIONS followed by DOWNLOAD AS PDF. You will then be able to print out and/or save articles using Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Civil & human rights

UN's OHCHR profile on Republic of Korea
Official website

Human Rights in Asia : a comparative legal study of twelve Asian jurisdictions, France, and the USA by Randall P. Peerenboom (Editor); Carole J. Petersen (Editor); Albert H. Y. Chen (Editor)
Call Number: Internat 570 P375a
ISBN: 9780415360029
Publication Date: 2006
Includes chapter on Korea

Decentering citizenship : gender, labor, and migrant rights in South Korea
Requires Oxford SSO. 2016 Stanford UP title by Hae Yeon Choo

RoK Constitutional Court

Constitutional Court of Korea: Decisions
Part of the Supreme Courts official website
Constitutional Court of Korea 헌법재판소
Link to the pages in English of the official court website.

Print copies of Constitutional Court decisions (1998 - ) at Korea S 100 C60
of Decisions of the Korean Constitutional Court (2000- ) at Korea S 200 C60

As explained on the Court's website
A Constitutional Court case number, 2017Hun-Ba369, is made up of the year, case code (Hun-Ba)
and unique number

The case codes are:

1) Hun-Ka for constitutional review of statutes
2) Hun-Na for the impeachment
3) Hun-Da for dissolution of a political party
4) Hun-Ra for Competence Disputes
5) Hun-Ma for constitutional complaint (pursuant to Constitutional Court Act Article 68, paragraph 1)
6) Hun-Ba for constitutional complaint (pursuant to Constitutional Court Act, Article 68 paragraph 2)
7) Hun-Sa for appointment of a counsel and preliminary orders
8) Hun-A for special cases such as retrial and etc

Legal Reform in Korea by Tom Ginsburg (editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 0415341000
Publication Date: 2004
See chapter by Lim Jibong, The Korean Constitutional Court, judicial activism, and social change,

Chapter 6 of the Constitution established the Constitutional Court

Article 11.1 sets out its jurisdiction
"The Constitutional Court shall have jurisdiction over the following matters:

The constitutionality of a law upon the request of the courts;

Impeachment;

Dissolution of a political party;

Competence disputes between central government organs, between central government organs and local governments, and between local governments; and

Constitutional complaint as prescribed by statute."

See also the Constitutional Court Act: August 5, 1988, which has since been amended. (The most recent (as of July 2016) December 21, 2007.)