Oxford LibGuides: Treaties & treaty law: BITS & IIAs

Finding full text of BITS and IIAs online

Investment Claims
Remote access requires Oxford SSO
Investment Claims draws together various materials on international investment law and arbitration. It contains arbitration awards and decisions; bilateral investment treaties (BITs); multilateral treaties; monographs; journal articles; and arbitration laws.
Some non-book content from this collection is expected to become unavailable during 2025. To access this from the Investment Claims site click "About" and then select "View non-book content from Investment Claims". Note that you may need to re-authenticate to access this content.

Electronic Database of Investment Treaties (EDIT)
Open access. FIlters in left hand column
more...less...
The Electronic Database of Investment Treaties (EDIT) is a new comprehensive full text database of international investment agreements (IIAs). Its goal is to facilitate informed public discourse, evidence-based reform, and academic study of the international investment regime by providing unprecedented access to the most extensive set of IIA texts to date.

As a fully machine-readable database, EDIT allows for efficient search through all IIAs, including through pre-defined content categories. All texts have been standardized and are now available in one single language (English) and format (XML). In addition, EDIT embraces a Wiki model whereby users can correct and help improve the data.

Read more...
Investment Policy Hub: International Investment Agreements Navigator
Free resource. Search UNCTAD's database of Bilateral Investment Treaties (BITs) and Treaties with Investment Provisions (TIPs)
UK Bilateral treaties published in the Country Series
Part of official FCO's website. From 2013 to the present "Bilateral treaties laid before Parliament in the form of a command paper that were not in force at the time of publication.
Click on the links to access the texts of both the treaty and accompanying explanatory memorandum: the former includes the published title and publication references.
The reference before the title i.e [CS] is for internal purposes."
Bilaterals.org
Free resource. "bilaterals.org was initiated in September 2004 by the Asia-Pacific Research Network, GATT Watchdog, Global Justice Ecology Project, GRAIN, IBON Foundation and XminusY. What brought these groups together was a shared concern about the growth of bilateral trade and investment deals outside of the World Trade Organisation (WTO) and a feeling that these less visible agreements were "under the radar" of many social justice activists ...."