Obligations law: Books : Remedies/Damages

Ebooks

Normal searches in SOLO will find both ebooks (where available) and physical or print books automatically. However we strongly recommend that all holders of an Oxford SSO log into both Westlaw Books and Lexis+ UK (go to Books) and have a look at their content separately, and not rely on SOLO searches alone.

When you are studying English law of damages, most of the print books of interest to you will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.

Are you looking for a Reading List title?

If yes does the SOLO search result indicate that it is the location called the Law Reserve? If SOLO says the book is in the Law Reserve, please come to the Law Library's Enquiry Desk on Level 2 with your University or Bodleian Reader's Card and ask for it there.  It will be wanded out to you but must still be read in the Law Library. Please return the book to the Enquiry Desk when you have finished with it.
Note.  The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course).

Law Commission of England and Wales

For fuller guidance on foreign law studies please consult the appropriate Law Bod guide for your particular interest. Below the link is a basic guide to where to find the collections of print books for foreign jurisdictions in the Law Bod.

Which jurisdiction are you interested in?

Level 2 (the entrance level to the law library) In addition to the law of England & Wales, and also in the KN section, are books relating to the following common law/Anglo-American legal tradition countries

Please note. Texts relating to contract law in other common law jurisdictions are also shelved in this sequence: the shelf mark indicates the jurisdiction (The appropriate geographic code - eg A8 for Australia - is what is added to the shelf mark of these books so that they are shelved together)

• A8 Australia
• C1 Canada
• I5 Ireland
• N4 New Zealand
• S3 Scotland.
• U4 United States of America

Level 3 (one floor above the entrance level to the law library) 
         Here you will find books on the contract law of individual European jurisdictions (eg France, Germany) and the contract law of the European Union. (EU law books have shelf marks beginning Euro Comm.)

Level 1 (one floor below the entrance level to the law library)
         Here you will find the books of the remaining jurisdictions of the world (eg China, India, South Africa)
 

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General. 
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions. 

If all the countries being compared are (or were) members of the Commonwealth, the book should have a shelf mark beginning Cw Gen. This collection is also on Level 2, but separate from General.

Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.

The majority of books on European Union law are on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the Law Library. These books have shelf marks beginning Euro Comm.

Are you looking for a Reading List title?

If the book on European Union law you are interested in has a shelf mark beginning KW and the location mentions the Law Reserve Collection you will find it on Level 2, the level at which you enter the library.

The principal collection of legal philosophy/jurisprudence books are also shelved on  Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library.  An area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp.  Within this section the books are arranged by the last name of author or editor.

As the Law Library moves to the Moys Classification Scheme, you may find legal philosophy books with shelf marks beginning KA .
KA titles are probably described on SOLO as being in the Law Reserve Collection. Please ask for these books at the Law Enquiry Desk - and remember to bring your University or Bodleian Reader's card with you, as these heavily used titles are issued to you for use in the Library. You can keep reading them for the rest of day if you like - but we do ask that you return them to the Enquiry Desk as soon as possible after you have finished consulting them. 
KA books not held in the Law Reserve collection are on Level 2 - but a few shelves away from those with shelf marks beginning Jurisp.

This is where most books on the philosophy/theory behind legal remedies will be shelved. However do pay attention to SOLO results as there may be others shelved with the books on the law of contract (ie with KN shelf mark) or with comparative studies (ie with General or Cw Gen shelf mark.) These collections are also shelved on Level 2.

Of course books in KN collection may included chapters examining theory not just practice of remedies law

Potentially useful book shelved in the General collection on Level 2

The Moys (K shelf mark) system is a subject classification. 
The law of remedies is shelved in the following sections

KN5  Remedies (both contract and tort)
KN17 Breach of contracts, remedies in contract law
KN37 Remedies in tort (ie damages, compensation, solatium (Scot))

In the KN collection in the Law Bod, books on the law of England & Wales/UK are shelved first - with shelf marks made up of a subject indicator, followed by author/editor and publication date elements.

After the books on the English law, come book titles on the law in certain (foreign) jurisdictions shelved country by country. The shelf marks of these books have a special element in the third line as shown in table below. Measuring Commercial Damages  which has shelf mark KN37.1 U4 GAU 2000 is about lost profit damages in the USA.

A8  Australia
C1 Canada
I5   Ireland
N4  New Zealand
S3  Scotland
U4  United States of America