Shakespeare: a guide to selected online resources: Further resources

Shakespeare's Words is an online version of David and Ben Crystal's glossary and language companion.

• Read full texts of the Complete Works online.
• Search for one word or phrase across all the Works.
• Full A-Z Glossary.
• Search by Topics or Themes.

To use the site you will have to register an account and then use the access code found on Weblearn.

Exploring Shakespearean London Theatres, this resource contains a map, a printed Guide, interactive software, public talks, and downloadable short films.

Shakespeare in Performance features the world-famous prompt book collection at the Folger Shakespeare Library, with prompt books for over 90% of Shakespeare’s plays, covering the period from the 1670s to 1970s (the majority are nineteenth century). These include editions owned by notable actors and directors such as Charles and John Philip Kemble, Henry Irving, Ellen Terry and Laurence Olivier. Performances of particular cultural importance have been selected as case studies, including David Garrick’s revised 1772 production of Hamlet, Henry Irving’s famous 1879 production of The Merchant of Venice, and Laurence Olivier’s Academy Award-winning cinema release of Hamlet in 1948.

Royal Shakespeare Company Archives: From Playwrights to Performance 1889-2013

Provides a comprehensive record of the performance history of the Royal Shakespeare Company and its predecessor, the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre. Browse and compare almost 1,400 prompt books to uncover how productions took shape, and explore the creative process behind the company's most important presentations in extensive additional documentation including production records, costume designs, music files, and photographs.

Shakespeare Documented is the largest and most authoritative collection of primary-source materials documenting the life of Shakespeare, bringing together all known manuscript and print references to Shakespeare, his works, and additional references to his family, in his lifetime and shortly thereafter.

On this site you will find images, descriptions, and transcriptions of:

• 107 manuscripts that refer to William Shakespeare by name in his lifetime (spelled in many different ways, which was typical of the period), including four manuscripts signed by him, and one letter addressed to him 
• 95 printed books and manuscripts from Shakespeare's lifetime that mention or quote his plays or poems, or that refer to him directly or indirectly as a writer
• 34 Stationers’ Register entries for Shakespeare’s plays and poems, up to and including the First Folio (1623), five of which name him as author
• 84 printed editions of Shakespeare’s plays and poems, up to and including the First Folio (1623), 62 of which include his name on the title-page or dedicatory leaf
• More than 100 documents that refer to other members of Shakespeare's family, including references to Shakespeare's coat of arms

The World Shakespeare Bibliography is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide since 1960.

Contents include:

• annotated entries for all important books,
• articles,
• book reviews,
• dissertations,
• theatrical productions,
• reviews of productions,
• audiovisual materials,
• electronic media
• scholarly and popular materials

The more than 129,000 records cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings.

Victorian Illustrated Shakespeare Archive is an image archive, with over 3000 illustrations from four significant illustrated editions of Shakespeare's works in the Victorian period.