Oxford LibGuides: Creative Writing: Free Online Resources

Free online resources

OERs are any type of teaching and/or learning materials that are freely available in the public domain, published under open licenses. Those listed below are applicable to the study of philosophy.

Future Learn
A diverse selection of courses from leading universities and cultural institutions from around the world. Includes several courses relating to Creative Writing.
MERLOT
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
open.conted
The gateway to Open Educational Resources and other freely available resources created or selected by tutors of the University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education.
Open Culture
An aggregator of free, downloadable courses from the world's leading universities, including many courses relating to Creative Writing.
Open Learn
Free online courses and resources provided by the Open University. Covers many subjects, including Creative Writing.

The Oxford Centre for Life-Writing
The Centre is committed to outreach, collaboration, and fostering research into life-writing. It promotes a lively, cross-disciplinary dialogue on the full range of life-writing, including biography, memoir and social media forms, through a busy programme of events, including lunch talks, performances, panel discussions, seminars and full-day workshops.
The Poetry Society
Membership organisation providing events, publications, competitions and education to support poets and poetry audiences. The Society supports small local groups around the country called "Stanzas".
BBC Writers Room
Training, advice and opportunities for script writers. Includes the Script Library, where you can read BBC film, TV and radio scripts in full.
Oxford Playhouse residencies
Oxford's local theatre supports playwrights through two residencies: the Playhouse Playmaker programme for playwrights at any stage of their career, and The Plot for later career playwrights.

Writing Lives: biography and beyond
Interviews with leading biographers, writers, and scholars about life writing in all its forms.
Oxford Writers House Talks
A series of talks exploring writing mediums, methods, interests, and approaches, produced by the Faculty of English Language and Literature at Oxford University.
Writers in Dialogue
Peter D. McDonald, Professor of English and Related Literature in the Faculty of English and Fellow of St Hugh's College, talks to contemporary writers about their work.
BBC Writers Room Podcast
Writers of popular BBC shows answer listeners' questions

Poetry Archive
Audio recordings of poets reading their own work.
The Poetry Archive exists to help make poetry accessible, relevant and enjoyable to a wide audience. It came into being as a result of a meeting, in a recording studio, between Andrew Motion, soon after he became U.K. Poet Laureate in 1999, and the recording producer, Richard Carrington. They agreed about how enjoyable and illuminating it is to hear poets reading their work and about how regrettable it was that, even in the recent past, many important poets had not been properly recorded.
The Archive is a not-for-profit organisation with charitable status. It is run by a small staff, supported by a distinguished board of trustees and a panel of specialist advisers. We depend for our existence on funding from public bodies, charitable trusts and generous individuals. The money we earn from sales of Poetry Archive CDs goes towards making more recordings.

LibriVox
Public domain audiobooks, including both fiction and non-fiction.

Disclaimer

We accept no responsibility for the content of these external websites, which may have their own terms and conditions.

Creative Writing: Free Online Resources

Introduction

Free online resources

Disclaimer