Oxford LibGuides: Philosophy for Continuing Education: Home

Who can use which resources?

Short course students

(including WOW, Weekly Class and short online courses)

Students enrolled on a Continuing Education short course which includes a written assignment can:

register to borrow books and films from the Continuing Education Library.
access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from within the university network, for example in the Library or in the resources room at Ewert House. Weekly class students cannot access subscription e-resources from home, but there are many free online resources available. (See the tabs below for information about subscription and free resources).

Undergraduate and postgraduate students

(including students enrolled on Certificate, Diploma and Masters courses)

Students enrolled on an undergraduate or postgraduate Continuing Education course can:

register to borrow books and films from the Continuing Education Library.
become a member of other Libraries within the Bodleian Group of Libraries (for example Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library). See a full list of Bodleian Libraries
access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from any internet connection using your Single Sign On.

Finding books

Oxford has a wide range of books (including ebooks and print books) for Philosophy. For more detailed info about finding books visit the books tab on this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

You can search for individual journal articles in SOLO by searching for the author and/or article title and/or subject keywords.

In addition, you can search for a particular journal or newspaper (e.g. Nature, English Historical Review, The Guardian) by entering the title in SOLO or via the 'Journals A-Z'.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
e-Journals A-Z
A full, browsable list of ejournals available at Oxford.

Below are a few key journals for Philosophy. See the journal tab of this guide for more information.

Philosophy
Philosophy is the journal of the Royal Institute of Philosophy, which was founded in 1925 to build bridges between specialist philosophers and a wider educated public. The journal continues to fulfil a dual role: it is one of the leading academic journals of philosophy, but it also serves the philosophical interests of specialists in other fields and those of the informed general reader
Mind
An established leading journal in philosophy. Quality rather than specialism is taken as the sole criterion for publication.

Oxford Online Resources

Oxford subscribes to many scholarly databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Philosophy below. Take a look at the 'Oxford's online resources' tab of this guide for more information.

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online databases.

Philosopher's Index with full text
Bibliographic database covering scholarly research in philosophy, published since 1940. Records cite journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews.
Alternative names: Philosophers Index ; Philosopher Index

The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. Records cite journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. Nearly 1,996 indexed journals and 12,036 indexed dissertations are cited, from 43 countries, in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Dutch, Portuguese, Czech, Hungarian, Polish and many other languages. Topics covered include: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.

The subscription includes access to 282 active full text journals, including the complete backfile of The Journal of Philosophy.
Philosophy Documentation Center
Philosophical full-text journals
Alternative names: PDC ; Philosophy Documentation Centre ; Philosophy Online ; Poiesis

Philosophical full-text journals, including:
Augustinian Studies
Canadian Journal of Philosophy
Deutsche Zeitschrift f’r Philosophie
Dialogue: Canadian Philosophical Review
Fichte Studien
History of Political Thought
Idealistic Studies
International Journal of Applied Philosophy
International Philosophical Quarterly
Journal of Philosophical Research
Leibniz Review
Monist
New Nietzsche Studies
New Vico Studies
Philosophical Review
Philosophical Topics
Philosophy & Phenomenological Research
Review of Metaphysics
Ruffin Series in Business Ethics, The
Social Philosophy Today
Southern Journal of Philosophy
Southwest Philosophy Review
Teaching Philosophy
The Owl of Minerva
Theoria

Free Online Resources

There are many scholarly resources which are freely available on the web. Key free web resources are listed below and on the 'Free Online Resources' tab.

Marianne Talbot's Philosophy Website
Marianne Talbot is a Philosophy tutor at the Department for Continuing Education. Her website includes links to her podcasts with transcripts and blog posts about philosophy.
PhilArchive
PhilArchive is the largest open access e-print archive in philosophy.

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations by Continuing Education students on the MSt in Literature and Arts are kept in the Lower Library and available to consult in the Library. These are not catalogued on SOLO. If you are looking for a specific dissertation, please ask Library staff.

SOLO
As well as books, journals and other materials, SOLO also covers Oxford theses and dissertations in print and where available online.
Bodleian guide to accessing theses
Detailed information on how to access theses in Oxford and from other Universities.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Proquest is a collection of full-text dissertations and theses from universities around the world.
Alternative names: PQDT; PQDTGlobal; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes content from PQDT UK & Ireland (aka Index to Theses) with abstracts going back to 1716.
More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Rewley House Continuing Education Library

The Library

Contact info

Rewley House Continuing Education Library
Rewley House
1 Wellington Square
Oxford
OX1 2JA

Tel.01865 270454

Email library@conted.ox.ac.uk

LIbrary news

Related guides

Philosophy
by Hilla Wait Last Updated Oct 10, 2024 1327 views this year

Key Libraries

Here are the key libraries for Philosophy, a full list of libraries is on the Bodleian Libraries website:

Continuing Education Library
The Rewley House Library is your home library and buys many of the books for your course.

Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library
A lending library supporting study, teaching and research in the Faculty of Philosophy and the Faculty of Theology and Religion.

Philosophy for Continuing Education: Home

Purpose of this guide