Oxford LibGuides: Oxfordshire History for Continuing Education: Home

Who can use which resources?

Short course students

(including WOW, Weekly Class and short online courses)

Students enrolled on a Continuing Education short course which includes a written assignment can:

register to borrow books from the Continuing Education Library.
access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from within the university network, for example in the Library or in the resources room at Ewert House. Weekly class students cannot access subscription e-resources from home, but there are many free online resources available. (See the tabs below for information about subscription and free resources).

Undergraduate and postgraduate students

(including students enrolled on Certificate, Diploma and Masters courses)

Students enrolled on an undergraduate or postgraduate Continuing Education course can:

register to borrow books and films from the Continuing Education Library.
become a member of other Libraries within the Bodleian Group of Libraries (for example the Bodleian Old Library). See a full list of Bodleian Libraries.
access electronic resources such as e-books, journal articles and databases from any internet connection using your Single Sign On.

Finding books

Oxford has a wide range of books (including ebooks and print books) for the history of Oxfordshire For more detailed information about finding books visit the books tab on this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

SOLO
You can search for individual journal articles in SOLO by searching for the author and/or article title and/or subject keywords.
In addition, you can search for a particular journal or newspaper (e.g. Nature, English Historical Review, The Guardian) by entering the title in SOLO or via the 'Journals A-Z'.
e-Journals A-Z
A full, browsable list of ejournals available at Oxford.

Below is the key journal for the history of Oxfordshire. See the journal tabs for of this guide for more information about finding journal articles.

Oxoniensia
Annual journal of the Oxfordshire Architectural and historical Society. Freely available without using Single Sign On except for the most recent 5 years.

Oxford Online Resources

Oxford subscribes to many scholarly databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, books, images, primary sources and more. You can find a key database for Oxfordshire history below. Take a look at the 'Oxford's online resources' tab of this guide for more information.

Bibliography of British and Irish History
Comprehensive for publications on British history, covering 55BC to the present. You can search by the dates you are interested in.

Free Online Resources

There are many scholarly resources which are freely available on the web. A key free web resource is listed below and more are listed on the 'Free Online Resources' tab.

British History Online
Includes full text access to available online volumes of the Victoria County History for Oxfordshire and Berkshire.

Maps

Two key sources for maps are listed below. More sources are listed on the Maps tab.

Digimap
Includes historic Ordnance Survey maps from the mid 19th century onwards. Only available with a Single Sign On..
Ordnance Survey Maps (National Library of Scotland)
Maps published by Ordnance Survey and related bodies (ca. 1840s-1960s). Includes Oxfordshire and Berkshire.

Rewley House Continuing Education Library

The Library

Contact info

Rewley House Continuing Education Library
Rewley House
1 Wellington Square
Oxford
OX1 2JA

Tel.01865 270454

Email library@conted.ox.ac.uk

LIbrary news

Related guides

Local History for Continuing Education

Key Libraries

Here are some of the key libraries for the history of Oxfordshire; a full list of libraries is on the Bodleian Libraries website.

Continuing Education Library
The Rewley House Library is your home library and buys many of the books for your course.

Duke Humfrey's Library
Duke Humfrey's Library contains a good collection of Local History books and journals on open access.
Weston Library
The Bodleian also holds many manuscript and special collections relating to both the history of Oxfordshire and the history of the University.
College Libraries
Many College libraries hold collections on the history of the College. Although access to College libraries is normally restricted to members, access is usually granted to bona fide researchers if the material is not available elsewhere. However, it is essential to arrange this with the Library in advance.
The above link takes you to a list of all College libraries as well as information on College archives.
Bodleian Library
The Bodleian Library holds many relevant books and journals on closed access which must be ordered from the stacks on SOLO.
Oxfordshire History Centre
The Oxfordshire History Centre is not part of Oxford University; it is the Oxfordshire county archive and local history library, based in Cowley. Many of its printed collections are catalogued on SOLO.

Oxfordshire History for Continuing Education: Home

Purpose of this guide