History for Continuing Education short courses: Oxford's online resources

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 800,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Being the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography online, BBIH is a comprehensive guide to historical writing about the history of Britain, Ireland, and relations with the empire and Commonwealth from 55BC to the present. The database consists of more than 470,000 records giving as comprehensive a guide as possible to books, articles in journals, and articles in books published since 1901, and to a considered selection of those published before 1901. The database consolidates a number of existing bibliographies (primarily series published by the Royal Historical Society and the Institute of Historical Research) together with some additional material. It is not intended to be a guide to the raw material of history - the manuscripts, printed books, buildings, artefacts and so on which constitute the historical record. However, published guides to these sources are included, as are modern editions of primary material and a selection of printed primary material published up to 1900.

BBIH also includes the ability to find out more about people covered using the integrated links with the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, the National Register of Archives, and Who Was Who; and includes links to British History Online, Reviews in History, H-Albion Reviews, BLArticles Direct and Google books.

The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook.

Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. More information on the history of the Handbook can be found in a paper written for the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM) annual meeting in 1996.

Historical Abstracts is your complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). This database is packed with annotated references to information on topics from the Renaissance to Tiananmen Square - over half a million entries in all.

Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts has long been recognized as the leading bibliography for historical study in the world. Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database, making this a historical periodical database unmatched in breadth. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.

A bibliography of books, articles and reviews on Islam and the Muslim world. Compiled and edited by C.H. Bleaney and others and produced in the Library, School of Oriental and African Studies, London.

This cross-search interface by Gale provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. It is an ideal starting point for research with tools to guide you through the material. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more. The approach also enables researchers to locate material in hitherto unknown resources, make connections between them and realise relationships among content that was not possible before.

The search tool allows users to find material in a single search from the following resources which Oxford has subscribed to: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century UK Periodicals, any Archives Unbound collections held by Oxford, British Library Newspapers, The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011, Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003, The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926, The Making of the Modern World 1450-1850, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, The Times Digital Archive, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive and U.S. Declassified Documents Online.

Please note that advanced searches are still best done in the individual databases.

This collection of primary source documents offers a rich seam of information on subjects such as: Daily life and routines in the army and auxiliary services; Trench warfare and Conditions in the trenches; Food and supplies; Battles and warfare; Training and discipline; Weapons and equipment; Camaraderie and friendship; Death; Health and medicine; Thoughts on the enemy. More complex themes of faith, morale, citizenship, mortality, masculinity, race and class can also be explored.

Material includes Diaries and journals; Letters; Personal narratives and reminiscences; Trench literature and soldiers' journals; Postcards; Scrapbooks and albums; Photographs and 360° views of personal items and objects; Sketches and paintings; Ephemera; Sheet music; Photographs; War art; Cartoons and comics; Propaganda and recruiting posters; Trench maps

Past Masters is a collection of primary-source full-text humanities databases. Past Masters titles are usually comprised of the complete works of individual authors.

An online archive of primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II, it covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. The selection of materials is based on holdings in the National Archives and the Wiener Library, London, and includes documents and letters in the original language. The archive includes the working papers of Rose Henriques from 1945-1950, which comprises perhaps the most complete record of the effort to improve the lives of Jewish survivors of the Holocaust and Displaced Persons in the British Zone of Occupation. It also includes papers of the Jewish Committee for Relief Abroad (JCRA), the Jewish Relief Units (JRUs) and copious documentation on other aspects of the Jewish refugee situation in the period 1945 to 1950.

This resource is relevant to those studying World War II, Holocaust and Jewish studies, post-war history of Germany, Eastern Europe, Yugoslavia, Greece and Italy.

This resource fully documents the essential contribution of women during the Great War as well as the revolutionary and permanent impact the World War I had on the personal, social and professional lives of these women. It is an important collection for research into 20th century social, political, military and gender history.

The primary sources are brought together from the Imperial War Museum, London, and were originally published by the Air Ministry, League of Mercy and War Fund, Purple Cross Service, Russian Relief Fund and many other organizations. This definitive digital collection of First World War charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings and more is fully searchable.

The International Historical Statistics (IHS) series is a key resource providing access to statistics covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. It is a collection of data sets taken from hundreds of disparate primary sources, including both official national and international abstracts dating back to 1750. This edition provides updated statistics to 2010 – covering 260 years and cover Europe, The Americas, but also Africa, Asia and Oceania. There are vital statistics and statistics for population, labour force, agriculture, industry, external trade, transport and communications, finance, prices, education, and national accounts. Statistical analysis can be conducted across both time and geopolitical boundaries. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.

The collection is an interdisciplinary resource. It will be of interest to academics, researchers and students in sociology, politics, history, economics, business, environment, international relations, geography and statistical studies.

Historical Statistics of the United States has long been the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. It has not been revised, however, since the Bicentennial Edition, which was published in 1975 and provided data through 1970. The period since then has witnessed an explosion of quantitative scholarship and the general expansion of the government's statistical record keeping. By one estimate, more than three fourths of the data output of the U.S. government and more than 80 percent of the historical data series generated by scholars have been produced since 1970. No subject area and few data series have remained untouched by this phenomenal growth of the American quantitative record.

The revised, updated, and expanded Millennial Edition contains considerably more information than its immediate predecessor: five volumes rather than two, more than twice as many pages of data and documentation, and a tripling of the number of data series: 37,339 in the new edition. This expansion occurred along several dimensions. Most series from the previous edition were extended by roughly thirty years, and the coverage of most topics was enhanced. More than a dozen new topics were added: American Indians, slavery, outlying areas, poverty, non-profit organizations, and the Confederate States of America, to list a few examples. Finally, the chapters in the new edition are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, provide a guide to the sources, and offer expert advice on the reliability of the data and the limits that might be placed on their interpretation.

Access to research resources relating to American collectors, dealers, agents and advisors, and the repositories that hold these records.

Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Online is a reference work covering medieval European history, culture, religious and intellectual life, and technology, 400-1500 A.D.. Articles are thematically organised and supported by extensive bibliographies. Transnational and interdisciplinary in approach, topics cover current art and architecture, medicine, and law, to archaeology, ecclesiastical history, and languages and literature. They focus not on "event" history but on the comparative study of wider processes and problems. This is an English translation of the 2013 update of the well-known German-language Enzyklopädie des Mittelalters, which was originally published by Primus Verlag / Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft.

***

In order to access ODNB, please follow the link above. If you are accessing remotely, you may be prompted to enter your SSO credentials. You will then be taken to the ODNB homepage, and you should see a message “University of Oxford” displayed above the login box. At this point you will have gained access to full text articles, and there is no need to log in on the ODNB homepage. In order to access the articles from the search results, you will need to click on their titles. If you still have experienced problems with ODNB, please clear your cache and cookies, as previous unsuccessful login attempts may be interfering with the current session, and then follow the above instructions again. The recent issues with ODNB's new interface have been flagged with the OUP.

***

After twelve years' work, involving over 10,000 people, writing and editing 60 million words to produce a 60 volume book, and a website with over 100,000 pages, the Oxford DNB was published on 23 September 2004.

An illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000. Remarkable people in any walk of life who were connected with the British Isles - excluding living people. It includes not just the great and good, but people who have left a mark for any reason, good, bad, or bizarre.

Oxford Reference Online brings together over 450 reference works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. It includes English and bilingual dictionaries, English grammar and usage guides, quotations and subject-specific reference works.

It is updated regularly with new titles, new editions, new entries, full-colour maps and illustrations, timelines, weblinks, and bibliographies.

Oxford Bibliographies are comprehensive subject bibliographies, which provide an up-to-date overview of the most recent and authoritative scholarship in a given field. Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Every article in the database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations. The modules include:

African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Evolutionary Biology, Geography, Hinduism, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Literary and Critical Theory, Management, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, Victorian Literature.