Oxford LibGuides: Archaeology for Continuing Education: Home

Finding books for Archaeology

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks and printed books for Archaeology, including at the Continuing Education Library. For more detailed information about our book collections visit the books page of this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a few of the top journals for Archaeology and there is more information on the journals page of this guide.

Antiquity
This peer-reviewed journal of world archaeology reports new archaeological research, methods and issues of international significance in plain language to a broad academic and professional readership.
Journal of archaeological science
This monthly journal publishes focus articles, original research papers and major review articles, relating to the development and application of scientific techniques and methodologies to all areas of archaeology.
Oxford Journal of Archaeology
The premier English language journal of European, Mediterranean and western Asian archaeology provides topical coverage of current research covering periods from Palaeolithic to medieval times, with contributions from an international cast of academics and field workers.
Proceedings of the Prehistoric Society
Global in scope and ranging in time from the earliest traces of human activity to the advent of written history, the Proceedings bring the latest results of research into prehistory to a worldwide audience.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
eJournals A-Z
A full, browsable list of ejournals available at Oxford.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, images, and more. You can find some of the key databases for British Archaeology below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

Bibliography of British and Irish History
Comprehensive for publications on British and Irish archaeology, covering 55BC to the present. You can search by the dates you are interested in.
Archaeology Data Service
Use the ADS LIBRARY to search references to archaeological literature (especially older publications) and to access a number of journal titles, including older issues of local archaeological society journals. This database is freely available on open access.
Databases A-Z
Choose Archaeology from the Subjects drop down menu to find other relevant databases.

Free Online Resources

Many of the key resources for British Archaeology are freely available online - see the Free Online Resources page of this guide for more details.

Rewley House Continuing Education Library

The Library

Contact info

Rewley House Continuing Education Library
Rewley House
1 Wellington Square
Oxford
OX1 2JA

Tel.01865 270454

Email library@conted.ox.ac.uk

Related guides

Archaeology
Guide intended for students on other University of Oxford Archaeology courses.

Key Libraries

Continuing Education Library
The Rewley House Library is your home library and buys many of the books for your course.

Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library
The Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library is one of the principal research libraries of the University of Oxford and specialises in Archaeology, Art History, and Classics (Ancient History and Literature). Many of the Archaeology books are available for borrowing.
Bodleian Old Library
The Bodleian Library holds many UK publications on archaeology. Many books are on closed access and must be ordered from the stacks. Books on open access are mainly in the Lower Gladstone Link.
Balfour Library
The Balfour Library is housed in the Pitt Rivers Museum. It holds the University’s research collections on the archaeology of sub-Saharan Africa, the Americas and Australasia. They are held together with the collections on the ethnography of these areas. The Balfour Library also holds works on the Palaeolithic period worldwide and on the theory and methods of archaeology.
Radcliffe Science Library
The Radcliffe Science Library holds some archaeological material, mainly but not exclusively more scientific aspects. Many books are on closed access and must be ordered from the stacks.

Archaeology for Continuing Education: Home

Purpose of this guide