Course II: Paper 4: The History of the English Language to c.1800: eJournals

Many journals are now available online in full text. These electronic journals can be browsed in a similar way to their printed equivalents, but have the added advantage of:

• being searchable (e.g. by subject, author or title of article)
• being accessible from any computer, saving the time required to track down printed journals in different libraries 
• being available when libraries are closed

The easiest way to access them is to search on SOLO'S Journals Search. Use it to find and connect to journals when you know the title of the journal you wish to use.

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resources)

You may find the following journals useful. These are available via Oxford eJournals.

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the online resources linked to below)

Literature Online not only provides access to the full text of more than 350,000 British and American original works, it also provides access to articles from over 430 scholarly journals. Coverage is extended by the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), one of the most important bibliographic sources for English studies.

Subject areas covered by ABELL include:

• English language – including syntax, phonology, lexicology, semantics, stylistics and dialectology
• English literature – including poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory and studies of individual authors
• bibliography – including manuscript studies, textual studies and the history of publishing
• traditional culture of the English-speaking world including custom, belief, narrative, song, dance and material culture.

If you know the title of the journal you are looking for you can search for it using SOLO or Journal Search to see if an online version is available. You can then either access a particular article or browse the most recent issues of journal.

If the coverage you require is not available online, a link is available from within Oxford eJournals to print holdings on SOLO.

The MLA International Bibliography indexes articles from over 4,000 humanities journals from 1926 to the present. You can search for articles by author, subject or title, and complex combined keyword searches are also possible. 

The MLA also provides links to the library catalogue and full text articles, where available. Library staff will be pleased to help with your searches wherever possible.