Prelims Paper 1 - Introduction to English Language and Literature: eJournals

The MLA International Bibliography indexes articles from over 4,000 humanities journals from 1926 to the present. You can search for articles by author, subject or title, and complex combined keyword searches are also possible. 

The MLA also provides links to the library catalogue and full text articles, where available. Library staff will be pleased to help with your searches wherever possible.

The Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (ABELL) contains approximately 880,000 bibliographic records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.

Subject areas covered by ABELL include:

• English language – including syntax, phonology, lexicology, semantics, stylistics and dialectology
• English literature – including poetry, prose, fiction, films, biography, travel writing, literary theory and studies of individual authors
• bibliography – including manuscript studies, textual studies and the history of publishing
• traditional culture of the English-speaking world including custom, belief, narrative, song, dance and material culture.

You may find the following journals useful. These are available via Oxford eJournals.

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the online resources linked to below)