Oxford LibGuides: Belarusian Language and Literature: Journals & Newspaper Articles

Belarusian and Slavonic e-journals

CEEOL
Offers full-text access to journals in many subject areas including a few on language and literature. Only one Belarusian journal.

Online journals

Here are some examples of some journals which can be accessed through 'E-journals A-Z'. Note sometimes access may only be to back-numbers and may not include the most recent issues.

The Slavic and East European Journal

The Slavonic and East European Review

How to locate journal articles on Databases A-Z

If you are working from a reading-list and if you have a reference the first step is to go to Databases A-Z and select a bibliographical database. The following databases have material relevant to Belarusian and Slavonic language and literature. Most of the articles indexed in these databases will be in English and other European languages.

Note: you can only find journal articles in these databases. You will NOT find journal articles in the online library catalogue (unless you do a Journal articles search on SOLO!)

E-journals A-Z
This gives a complete listing of all Oxford University e-journals
EBSEES (The European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)
Provides a European counterpart to ABSEES but note that it only covers the period 1991-2007
JSTOR
Offers full-text access to good range of English-language journals in the Slavonic field. Does not offer access to current issues but only to back-issues. Typically a gap of 1-5 years between most recently published journal and the back-issues available to JSTOR
MLA (Modern Language Association International Bibliography)
Provides over one million citations for items from journals and series published worldwide. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Coverage 1926 to present, updated nine times per year.
IMB (International Medieval Bibliography)
Comprises records deriving from articles published in periodicals (journals) published world-wide. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

Belarusian journals

The library takes the following journals in hard-copy:

Belaruskaia linhvystika

The following are available online:

Belaruskaia mova

Newspapers

Novoe vremia (Russian)

Nasha Niva (Both Belarusian and English available)