Oxford LibGuides: Bibliometrics and Citation Tracking: Citation Tracking

Citation Alerts

Manage your Search Alerts, Author Citation Alerts and Document Citation Alerts with these tools:

Scopus (My Alerts)

Web of Science (My Citation Alerts).

80% of the citations come from about 20% of the journals cited, identifying a core list for a local journal collection.

-- (Chung, 2007)

Eigenfactor Social Science Citation Relationships 2004

Web of Science

Major databases which display citing articles:

Web of Science
Use (Cited by) in the results list or the Cited Reference Search tab.
more...less...
Includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Scopus
Use (Citations) or (View Citation Overview) in the search results.
more...less...
A comprehensive database for scientific, technical and medical information.
Ovid databases
AMED, CAB Abstracts, Econlit, GeoRef, Forest Science, Global Health, Medline, PsycINFO and more.
Use (Find Citing Articles) in the search results.
JSTOR
Use (Citation Locator) (Items Citing this Item) in the search results.
more...less...
JSTOR is an online archive of academic journals in all fields.
Google Scholar
Use (Cited By) in the search results. Google Scholar includes citations from an array of sources in its cited by calculation, including PowerPoints and Word documents.
more...less...
Search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites
PubMed
Use (Cited by in PubMedCentral) in the search results.

Databases which display other articles on the same subject:

Ovid databases
AMED, CAB Abstracts, Econlit, GeoRef, Forest Science, Global Health, Medline, PsycINFO and more.
Use (Find Similar) in the search results.
PubMed
Use (Related Citations) in the search results.
Web of Science
Use (Related Records) in search results, to find similar records based on shared references .

The Affiliation Identifier in Scopus will track citations by organization. The database merges name variants.

Scopus will also give you data about all those citations by subject.

(access requires a subscription)

For Oxford researchers and departments:

Symplectic Elements
A tool for Oxford University researchers and departments to record bibliographic and other information about their research outputs.