Geography and the Environment: Databases

Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers over 25,000 journals and over 300,000 books from over 7,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 90 million records going back as far as the 18th century.

It includes the content from a number of other major databases: Medline (medicine) 1966 - , Embase (medicine) 1970 - , Compendex (engineering) 1970 - , Geobase (geography) 1980 - .

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

Originally conceived as a project at The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, JSTOR began as an effort to ease the increasing problems faced by libraries seeking to provide adequate shelf space for the long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

Factiva, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services that enable professionals to make better decisions faster. Factiva's unrivalled collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles.

Factiva's innovative, XML-based and Web services-enabled technology platform provides access to this rich content collection via Factiva's role-specific products or through customized enterprise, group or personal solutions. Executives, information professionals, marketers, salespeople, and other professionals can easily monitor and understand the latest news, market trends, and business challenges relevant to them directly from the Microsoft Office and job-specific applications they use every day.

OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics. It is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data with online access provided for all publications and statistics released since 1998.

The iLibrary covers 17 key themes including development, economics, governance, trade and social issues, migration and health. As of March 2013 content includes 5 billion data points across 42 databases; 44,630 tables and graphs; 8,330 ebook titles; 30,280 chapters; and 1,920 key tables.

Please note, IEA statistics are not included in our subscription.

Commodity Price Statistics from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development provide monthly free-market prices and price indices starting in January 1960 for selected commodities that concern commodity-dependant countries. Price indices are provided for commodity groups (including food, tropical beverages, vegetable oilseeds and oils, agricultural raw materials, minerals, ores and metals), and for all groups in current dollars and SDRs. Additional features include: instability indices and trends in prices; annual maximum and minimum values of monthly price averages; and Commodity Price Bulletin in PDF format.

The UK Data Service provides access to high-quality social and economic data deposited into the UK Data Archive.

Here you will find a single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, NGO databases, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data. Access varies but initial authentication - as an academic researcher - is provided by your single sign on. Actual ability to access data varies between collections, some which may be downloaded or analysed in your browser window (open access), ordered and downloaded after registration (safeguarded access) or supplied following further approval and checks (controlled access). The UK Data Service also operates the ESRC Secure Data Lab as part of offering access to controlled microdata.

For assistance in acquiring datasets for research projects please contact John Southall, Bodleian Data Librarian Librarian

john.southall@bodleian.ox.ac.uk or refer to the Bodleian Data Library for further guidance.

NOTE: Please familiarise yourself with the three tier data access policy (open, safeguarded and controlled) and the conditions of use before searching for data or registering for a user account. https://www.ukdataservice.ac.uk/get-data/data-access-policy

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.

Alternative name: inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
 

ICPSR holds the world's largest collection of computer-readable social science data. In order to use this service you will need to create a MyData account.

Logging in with your MyData account and agreeing to the ICPSR Responsible Use Statement authorizes you to download data files from that point on. On subsequent visits to the site, when you begin to download a dataset, you will be asked to enter your e-mail address and MyData password.