Oxford LibGuides: Evidence Based Social Intervention: Journal Articles & Reports

Medical Libraries

The Campbell Collaboration Library

An international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in education, crime and justice, and social welfare.

The Cochrane Library

Contains Cochrane Reviews as well as the collection of records of randomised controlled trials, called CENTRAL.

Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

OVID PsycINFO^®

An expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

MESH

MeSH

The National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus consists of sets of terms naming descriptors in a hierarchical structure that permits searching at various levels of specificity. MeSH descriptors are arranged in both an alphabetic and a hierarchical structure.

Subject-specific Databases

Social work,
human services
& related areas

Family and Education

Healthcare

Abstracts in Social Gerontology (EBSCO)

ASSIA (Applied Social Sciences Indexes and Abstracts)

Social Services Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts

ERIC (ProQuest)

ERIC (EBSCO)

Education Collection (incl. ERIC)

Family and Society Studies Worldwide

CINAHL

Cochrane Library Systematic reviews

Global Health (Ovid)

MEDLINE (Ovid)

PsycINFO (Ovid)

PubMed

e-Journals

e-Journals A-Z

Search the collection of e-journals available to Bodleian readers by title, subject, or citation.

Guide: Citation Searching

For citation searching, i.e. finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication go to -

Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science®)

Uses citations for relevance and article ranking.

SCOPUS

A bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences going back as far as 1869.

Google Scholar

Also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.

To find articles and books cited within books try searching Google Books with the reference in quotation marks.

TOCs & alerts

ZETOC

Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings from 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis. You can:

search for citations of journal articles & conference proceedings;
set up, modify & delete email alert;
set up RSS feeds for journals.

The TOCs Journal Tables of Contents service

Makes it easy to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material by enabling them to find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers.

You can also set up alerts and RSS feeds on SCOPUS, as well as IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences) and WPSA (Worldwide Political Science Abstracts).