John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera for Art Historians: Prints

(C) John Johnson Collection: Trade in Prints and Scraps 8 (74)

An overview of prints in the John Johnson Collection with a list of categories (not all catalogued and digitised) and genre terms enabling the retrieval of prints dispersed throughout the subject sections of the Collection is available on our website.

The prints in the John Johnson Collection fall into three main groups:

• Political Cartoons. Coverage 1749- 1927. Most have digital images, available through the JJ online catalogue (e.g. set scroll bar to shelfmarks and type Political Cartoons) and the Visual Arts and Humanities Data Service (VADS). If you want to browse the images, this is easiest in VADS. The prints can be cross-searched in VADS with various collections in other institutions.
• Trades and Professions Prints. available through the JJ online catalogue (e.g. set scroll bar to shelfmarks and type Trades and Professions). They can also be accessed through VADS.
• Popular prints.  The following Johnson shelfmarks are available through the John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera (ProQuest). This is free to all in the UK (but by institutional subscription only elsewhere). The links below are to the PDF indexes that give an overview of these sections

Trade in Prints and Scraps (the main section of Popular Prints in the Collection)

Mezzotints folder

Trade in Cheap Mezzotints

Trade in Cheap Lithographs

Puzzle Pictures

Window Pictures and Transparencies

Printed on the Ice (Frost Fair Prints)

Scraps

Music Titles (covers of sheet music)

Note Headings (engraved topographical images at head of notepaper)