Skip to main content

Jesus College Libraries: Meyricke Library

The main library for members of Jesus College (including staff) is the Meyricke Library. It is open 24 hours a day. Wi-Fi is available throughout the Library.

Quick links

Finding books

Books in Jesus College appear in SOLO, the library catalogue covering the majority of the library collections of the University of Oxford. You can check SOLO anywhere without logging in.

If the book you want is on loan to another reader, you can place a hold on it. You will receive an email once the book is available. If it's urgent, please contact the Library.

Requesting books

Can't find a book on your reading list? We encourage you to recommend books for the Library, including additional copies of textbooks.

Although the Library cannot guarantee to buy every book suggested, remember that the College offers book grants.

Printing and copying

The photocopier in the Lower Library also offers scanning and colour printing. It is maintained by the college Computing Office.

DVD Library

The JCR & MCR DVD collection is housed in the Upper Library. You may borrow a DVD for up to 7 days (no renewals) by scanning it out in the usual way.

Organ Studies Library

The John Wellingham Organ Studies Library is a collection of 150 organ scores and textbooks available to all current organ scholars at Oxford (and others on application). The collection is catalogued on SOLO. Please email both the Chaplain and the Librarian to arrange a visit.

Meyricke Library

Three reading rooms offer you a variety of study spaces:

    Meyricke Upper Library
  • The Lower Library contains law, science, and English literature, as well as the Student Support collection on welfare and study skills.
  • The Upper Library holds books in the humanities and social sciences.
  • The Periodicals Room holds theology, serial publications in the humanities, and Oxford history.

There is also a dedicated Graduate Study Room elsewhere in College.

Borrowing, returning, and renewing books

The Library is self-service. To borrow, choose 'Borrow & Renew' at the self-service machine in the entrance corridor, scan your University Card, and place the books on the pad. You may take the books once the computer has registered the loan.

Books can be borrowed until the end of each term or for the vacation. You will receive an automatic reminder when your books are due for return or renewal. To return books, choose 'Return' at the self-service machine, place the books on the pad, then leave them on the shelving trolley.

Note that if you pass a book to another student in college, you are still responsible for it.

You can renew your books through SOLO using your Single Sign-On. If your books have become overdue, please ask staff to renew them for you.

Library Assistant

Library Assistant Logo

Are you an Oxford Fresher?

Library Assistant is our online guide to library services for new undergraduate students. It is adapted to work on smartphones and tablets so you can access it anywhere.  You can use Library Assistant to -

  • Find libraries around Oxford
  • Get help finding books on your reading lists
  • Get information about library WiFi, passwords and photocopying
  • ...and much more

Visit Library Assistant at -

www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/assistant

Student Support collection

The Student Support collection (section SS in the Lower Library) holds books on study skills and welfare issues, whether for your own use, or to help you support a friend. Borrowing is anonymous: neither staff nor students can see who has which books. Simply take the books you need from the shelves. When you have finished with them, place the books directly on the returns trolley.

Students with disabilities

Readers with disabilities, and prospective students, are invited to contact the Librarian to discuss support in using the Library. A guide to access to the College buildings is available on the main College website.

Students may nominate another member of College, or a support worker approved by the University's Disability Advisory Service, to accompany them in the Library or borrow books on their behalf. Library staff can arrange for books to be delivered to the Lodge or directly to student rooms for readers who cannot access the Library. Please ask staff if you would like to reserve a desk in one of the ground floor reading rooms.

Contact the Library

Jesus College logo

Office open: Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. and 2 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Email: library@jesus.ox.ac.uk

Telephone: (01865) 279704
(internal: 79704)

[picture of Owen]

Owen McKnight (College Librarian)

Oliver Miller (Graduate Library Trainee)

More in Oxford

Jesus College Libraries are independent of the Bodleian Libraries, but college members are entitled to use the Bodleian's services. These include extensive e-resources (books, journals, and databases).

Note that, in general, members of Jesus College may not use the libraries of other colleges. (All Souls and Nuffield are open on application.) However, books held only in college libraries and not in the Bodleian may be consulted by appointment. Jesus College Libraries do not otherwise participate in interlibrary loan or reciprocal access arrangements.

Similarly, students from other colleges (and Old Members of Jesus College) may only use the Meyricke Library by appointment.