This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Geography and the Environment" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geography and the Environment  

Guide to the latest and most useful research resources for geography and the environment
Last Updated: Mar 15, 2012 URL: http://ox.libguides.com/geography Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Key Resources

International Encyclopedia of Human Geography

SCOPUS (includes Geobase)

Ovid SP (includes GeoRef and EconLit)

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts - now available via the new ProQuest platfom

JSTOR

Manual of European Environmental Policy

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)

 

Guide: Remote Access

There are three methods of accessing subscription resources off campus:

  1. Single Sign On. Sign on to SOLOOxLIP+ or your University email and your browser retains the sign on. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus.
  2. VPN (Virtual Private Network). Register with OUCS to log on to the network via VPN. Once logged on you can access all e-resources as if you were on campus.
  3. Departmental Server. Members of some departments will be able to access e-resources by logging in to their departmental server (e.g. Economics and Politics).
For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.
 

Awards for Publications

AAG Publication Award  is conferred in recognition of exceptional and outstanding contributions to the discipline by publishers. The award is not necessarily given every year.

2010
Victor H. Winston and Bellwether Publishing, for his many years of service as a rare combination of scholar and publisher and in recognition of more than 50 years of sustained publisher support for the discipline through production of outstanding geography journals.

Includes "Eurasian Geography and Economics"  (Oxford e-Journals), No. 1 in Area Studies in the Journal Citation Reports for 2010.
 

Geography LibGuide

This 'Getting Started' page gives you links to key resources and information about new publications. The tabs above lead to more in-depth information about:

Finding journal articles

E-books & online reference works

Theses & dissertations

News & analysis

Statistics

Cartography

If you wish to ask a question, recommend a resource for purchase or book a research appointment, then please contact the Subject Specialist for Geography, Sue Bird.  Sue is based in the Radcliffe Science Library and runs a weekly "surgery" in the Department.  Suggestions about this online guide are also very welcome!

 

New Books

Cover Art
SAGE handbook of environmental change - edited by John A Matthews
Call Number: GE 105 SAG 2012
ISBN: 9780857023605
This 2 volume set gives an extensive survey of the interdisciplinary science of environmental change. It includes recent debates on climate change and the full range of other natural and anthropogenic changes affecting the Earth-ocean-atmosphere system in the past, present and future.

Cover Art
Introduction to modern climate change - Andrew Dessler
Call Number: RSL : QC 981.8.C5 DES
ISBN: 9780521173155
Publication Date: 2012
This book not only focuses on the science of modern climate change and the problem of anthropogenic climate change. It also addresses non-science issues such as the economics of and the policy options involved.

Cover Art
The SAGE handbook of biogeography - edited by Andrew C. Millington, Mark A. Blumler and Udo Schickhoff.
Call Number: RSL Level 2 QH84 SAG 2011
ISBN: 9781412919517
Publication Date: 2011
This is a retrospective and prospective overview of biogeography that considers the main areas of the subject. It details a global perspective by incorporating the work of different schools of biogeography and examines the interdisciplinary debates that biogeographers are, and are not, contributing to within geography.

 

Geography Librarian

Bodleian Social Science Librarian

Profile Image
Louise Clarke
Contact Info
Bodleian Social Science Library
Manor Road, Oxford, OX1 3UQ
Telephone: +44 (0)1865 2-85936
Send Email
 

Department

School of Geography and the Environment

Oxford University Centre for the Environment
(Dyson Perrins Bldg.)
University of Oxford
South Parks Road
OXFORD
OX1 3QY

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip