The Duke Humfrey's Library has open shelf collections for: 
Please search SOLO for specific titles and ask staff for assistance.
R. 1. 86 - Codex diplomaticus aevi Saxonici (Chartae Anglosaxonicae). 6 vols. London, 1839-1848 - also available online via the Internet Archive.
R. 1. 97 - Regesta regum Anglo-Normannorum : the Acta of William I (1066-1087). Oxford, 1998
R. 1. 98 - Regesta regum anglo-normannorum, 1066-1154. 4 vols. Oxford, 1913-1969
R. 1. 123 - Fœdera, conventiones, literæ, et cujuscunque generis acta publica, inter reges Angliæ / Rymer, Thomas, 1641-1713. Farnborough, 1967
R. 1. 130 - Annala Uladh = Annals of Ulster, otherwise, Annala Senait, Annals of Senat. Dublin, 1887-1901 - also available online via the Internet Archive.
R. 1. 132 - Annala Rioghachta Eirean = Annals of the kingdom of Ireland, by the Four Masters, from the earliest period to the year 1616. 7 vols. 2nd Dublin, 1856. - also available online via Internet Archive.
R. 1. 135a - Scotichronicon / Walter Bower. 9 vols. Aberdeen, 1987-1998
R. 2. 13 - Regesta pontificum Romanorum (R.2.13 Italia pontificia, R.2.14 Germania pontificia, R.2. 17 Iberia pontificia)
R. 2. 21f - Concilium Florentinum documenta et scriptores
R. 2. 26k - Germania sacra
R. 2. 27d - Helvetia sacra
R. 2.175 - Smith, David M., Guide to bishops' registers of England and Wales : a survey from the Middle Ages to the abolition of episcopacy in 1646 (London, 1981)
R. 2.176 - Canterbury and York series
R. 2.177 - Records of Convocation
R. 2.190 - Northamptonshire and Rutland clergy from 1500
R. 2. 239 - A list of wills, administrations, etc. in the Public Record Office, London, England, 12th-19th century
R. 2.239c - An index to the wills proved in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury, 1750-1800
R. 2.240 - Index to the prerogative wills of Ireland, 1536-1810
R. 2.256 - Publications of the Harleian Society - partly available online
See also Upper Reading Room K.6
Lending copies of many of these series are in History Faculty Library Local history section, Lower Gladstone Link.
R.Top. 8 - Publications of the Surtees Society [Northumbria]
R.Top. 90 - Publications of the Bedfordshire Historical Record Society
R.Top. 100 - The Berkshire archæological journal
The Victoria County History Red Book project was founded in 1899 as a private enterprise, with the intention of producing a history of each English county. Its ambitious scope covered all aspects: archaeology, topography, architecture, social, economic and political history through the ages and by parish. The publications are thoroughly researched, authoritative and illustrated.
Some individual volumes are available electronically and many series are still in progress or has ceased, where for instance funding has dried up. 
[See also Victoria County History: England's Past for Everyone]
Search for a Parish (VCH)
R.Top. 522 - The Victoria history of the county of Bedford [online selectively]
R.Top. 531 - The Victoria history of the county of Buckingham [online selectively]
R.Top. 533 - The Victoria history of the county of Cambridgeshire and the Isle of Ely [online selectively]
R.Top. 538 - A history of the county of Chester [online selectively]
R.Top. 540 - The Victoria history of the county of Cornwall
R.Top. 544 - The Victoria history of the county of Cumberland [online selectively]
R.Top. 548 - The Victoria history of the county of Derby [online selectively]
R.Top. 553 - The Victoria history of the county of Dorset [online selectively]
R.Top. 556 - The Victoria history of the county of Durham [online selectively]
R.Top. 560 - The Victoria history of the county of Essex [online selectively]
R.Top. 562 - The Victoria history of the county of Gloucester [online selectively]
R.Top. 565 - The Victoria history of Hampshire and the Isle of Wight [online selectively]
R.Top. 570 - The Victoria history of the county of Hertford [online selectively]
R.Top. 572 - The Victoria history of the county of Huntingdon [online selectively]
R.Top. 574 - The Victoria history of the county of Kent [online selectively]
R.Top. 576 - The Victoria history of the county of Lancaster [online selectively]
R.Top. 579 - The Victoria history of the county of Leicester [online selectively]
R.Top. 581 - The Victoria history of the county of Lincoln [online selectively]
R.Top. 587 - The Victoria history of London : including London within the Bars, Westminster & Southwark [online selectively]
R.Top. 590 - The Victoria history of the county of Middlesex [online selectively]
R.Top. 594 - The Victoria history of the county of Norfolk [online selectively]
R.Top. 596 - The Victoria history of the county of Northampton [online selectively]
R.Top. 603 - The Victoria history of the county of Nottingham [online selectively]
R.Top. 785-791m - history, topography and antiquities of Welsh counties and towns
R.Top. 794-796 - history, topography and antiquities of Scottish counties and towns
R.Top. 807-810 - history, topography and antiquities of Irish counties and towns
L&I - Public Record Office (PRO) Lists and Indexes [please note that they are in the process of being transferred from the Upper Reading Room K.5.478 and K.5.479]
main series: vols 1-55
supplementary lists and indexes: vols. 1-15
L&I Soc - List & Index Society publications: Standard series & Special series
"Domesday Book is a detailed survey and valuation of landed property in England, taken in 1086 on the orders of William the Conqueror. It records who held the land and how it was used, and also includes information on how this had changed since the Norman Conquest in 1066. It is not a census of the population, and the individuals named in it are almost exclusively land-holders. Domesday is written in Latin, though excellent translations are available". From National Archives guide: Domesday Book.
R.Top. 980 - Domesday book (Phillimore)
"The Phillimore editions (Domesday Book, general editor John Morris (Chichester 1975-1992)) are arranged by county, and have a transcript of the original abbreviated Latin on the left page, facing an English translation on the right page. These volumes do not have page numbers, because as far as possible they use the reference systems found within Domesday itself." Learn how to find an entry in the Phillimore edition.
See also:
DH Cler. Dir. - Clerical Directory (1855-1860), then Clergy List (1850-1917, c 155 vols) and Crockford's clerical directory (1860- current, c 103 vols)
DH DLB - Dictionary of Literary Biography [available online]
BR846.3 DIC 1985 - Dictionnaire du monde religieux dans la France contemporaine
CS27 ALM 1807 - Almanac (Almanach) de Gotha (1910-1944)
CS404 EUR 1978 - Europäische Stammtafeln. Neue Folge (1978-)
All Duke Humfrey modern books are
CONFINED
to the library.
You can use them anywhere in the Old Library, Gladstone Link, and Radcliffe Camera.
The Upper Reading Room guide lists more core source materials, esp. for medievalists and early modernists and European historians.
You can find more local history books in SOLO with the following suggested subject searches:
Abingdon Abbey - History
Kensington (London, England) - Social life and customs
Manchester (England) - Dwellings - History
Lincolnshire (England) - Economic conditions - 1066-1485
Surrey - Geneaology - Bibliography
Wills - England - London - Indexes
Soldiers - England - Oxfordshire - Registers
Historical trade and phone directories of the 19th century are a wonderful source of information for English and Welsh local history.
Suggested SOLO subject search: e.g. Oxford (England) - Directories.
A number of directories have also been digitised at Historical Directories of England & Wales (Leicester University).
Bodleian Libraries does not have a subscription to the library edition of Ancestry.com. However, public libraries offer access, including Oxford Central Library (top floor).
Ancestry.com is particularly useful for family and genealogical research, esp. British, North American and Australian.
You can trace a family tree using the largest site online including the UK Census from 1841; birth, marriage and death records; parish and probate records.