Skip to main content

Russian and East European Area Studies (REES): Theses

Guide to library provision for Slavonic, Russian, Central and East European history and social sciences

Finding Oxford Theses

You can search for Oxford MPhil and DPhil politics theses on SOLO.
Simply search for "thesis oxford" plus any keywords if you are interested in a particular subject.

Selected MPhil theses along with all DPhil theses are in the Bodleian Stack and must be requested (Automated Stack Request via OLIS) to the Duke Humphries Library for consultation.

Key Resources

Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Global

A collection of works from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along wtih some works written prior to 1997.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
UK and Ireland

The collection offers the most comprehensive available listing of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

An international organization supporting electronic publishing and open access to scholarship.

THE BRITISH LIBRARY

The EThoS service from the British Library contains information about UK theses, with increasing availability of full-text downloads (if a library or an individual has paid for digitization).

ORA (Oxford Research Archive) contains a growing collection of digital copies of successful Oxford theses submitted as part of research degree awards. The full content of as many theses as possible are made freely available to be accessed via the Internet.

UTREES

University Theses in Russian, Soviet and East European Studies 1907-2012.