Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of Art: Visual Resources Centre: Home

The Visual Resources Centre is currently open to visitors by appointment only. If you have any queries or would like to see the collection, please contact the Visual Resources Centre Assistant, Olivia Freuler: vrc@hoa.ox.ac.uk.

Please note that visitors will be required to wear a mask at all times.

 

The Visual Resources Centre forms part of the Department of History of Art. It's purpose is to support staff, students and researchers in the provision and creation of digital images for teaching, learning and research. The Centre also preserves and provides access to the Department's analogue collections.

The Centre contains over 90,000 35mm slides of art and architecture from classical antiquity to the present day. There is also a rare collection of over 65,000 glass lantern slides from the nineteenth and early twentieth century. A significant proportion of this focuses on architecture.

Further to this the Visual Resources Centre also holds several photographic collections which are attributed to the work of various individuals. These collections have been bequeathed or donated to the Department. A number of anonymous photographic albums of art and architecture also make up part of the collections.

All of these collections may be accessed by appointment and can be digitised upon request.

 


Picture credits

All images are from collections in the Department of History of Art unless otherwise stated.

Please acknowledge Department of History of Art, University of Oxford if reusing for educational purposes. No commercial re-use allowed.

Shelves of archival boxes at the Visual Resources Centre

History of Art Blog

To see what interesting things happen in the Department of History of Art check out our blog.

Digitisation

The Centre is able to digitise material on an ad-hoc basis with the use of an A3 flatbed scanner, 35mm slide scanner, digital SLR camera and a copy stand.

Researchers are welcome to use the facilities to create digital copies of material after an induction of the equipment.

Visual Resources Assistant

Profile Photo
Olivia Freuler
Contact:
01865 286839

Location and opening times

The Visual Resources Centre is open:

Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm (currently closed on Tuesday)

If you would like to view the collections or have a question related to the resources please email the Visual Resources Assistant Olivia Freuler at vrc@hoa.ox.ac.uk

01865 286839

History of Art Department
University of Oxford
Suite 9, Littlegate House
St Ebbe’s, Oxford
OX1 1PT, United Kingdom