Formatting your in text citations/footnotes and bibliography correctly for your thesis or publication is a chore. Reference management software makes it easier and saves you time. This introductory session gives an overview of how reference management works, explores the pros and cons of a wide range of reference management packages and gives you the opportunity to try out four different packages so that you can work out which one is best for you. The packages included are RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero and Mendeley.
Who is this session for? Postgraduate students, researchers and university staff.
RefWorks is an online tool which allows you to manage your citations/references, insert them into your work as footnotes or intext citations, automatically generate bibliographies and easily switch between citation styles. This introduction is open to all, but the section on importing references will focus on Humanities examples.
Who is this session for? Postgraduates, researchers.
RefWorks is an online tool which allows you to manage your references, insert them into your work, automatically generate bibliographies and easily switch between citation styles. This introduction is open to all but the section on importing references will focus on Science/Social Science examples.
Who is this session for? All University members and alumni.
Mendeley is a reference management package that helps you build libraries of references and then add citations and bibliographies to word processed documents. This session will be run in two parts with a break in between. If you are an advanced user of Mendeley you need only attend the second part, starting at 15.25.
- An overview of reference management with Mendeley
- Creating a Mendeley account and installing Mendeley Desktop
- Adding, editing and organising references
- Creating bibliographies
- Managing PDF documents with Mendeley
- Using the Mendeley 'Papers' database
- Collaboration and social networking with Mendeley
Who is this session for? Postgraduates, researchers, academics and undergraduates wishing to use reference management software.
Zotero is a reference management package that enables you to build libraries of references and add citations and bibliographies to word processed documents. This introduction covers the main features of Zotero.
EndNote X8 is a desktop based reference management tool for Windows and Macs which helps you to build libraries of references and insert them into your Word document as in text citations or footnotes and automatically generate bibliographies. Who is this session for? This introduction to EndNote is open to all.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout