Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Managing your references: Mendeley

Connect with other researchers

A benefit of Mendeley is the ability to network and collaborate with other researchers around the world. Develop your research network profile to promote your work and connect with others.

Share references

Share references and notes with colleagues using Mendeley groups. There are a variety of privacy and editing permissions options. Interact with other members of the group on the group page. Find out more on the Mendeley website:

Mendeley Web Catalog

Mendeley Web Catalog is a research catalogue of all the references in every Mendeley user's library, which can be searched. You are able to see how many users have a particular reference in their library, but not who those users are. Find out more on the Mendeley website:

Citations and bibliographies

Cite references and create bibliographies in Microsoft Word and Open Office using the Mendeley word processor plug-in. While there are two versions of Mendeley running concurrently, there are also two word processor plugins available.

  1. Find out more about the word processor that accompanies Mendeley Desktop, the original citation software, on the Mendeley website:

2. Find out about the new word processor plugin 'Mendeley Cite' which accompanies the new version of the software Mendeley Reference Manager:

For available citation styles see the CSL Editor webpage:

How does it work?

Mendeley logo

Mendely is a freely available reference manager and academic social network with web-based and desktop versions. You can sync your library between your web-based and desktop libraries and across different computers.

Versions

There are two version of Mendeley running concurrently since the release of a new version in 2019. Elsevier, who own Mendeley, intend Mendeley Reference Manager to replace Mendeley Desktop although there is no date given for this yet [correct at time of editing (18th May 2021)]. On this page you will find out information common across both versions of the software, such as methods for collecting references. There are separate pages outlining specific details of the two versions of the software:

Collecting references

Below are the key methods for collecting references into your Mendeley library:

Direct Export

  • Some online databases

Capture

  • Bibliographic data from:
    • Online databases
    • Google Scholar
    • SOLO
    • Online PDFs
    • Other library catalogues (e.g. British Library)
  • Webpage snapshots

Offline PDF of full text

  • drag and drop PDF
  • import details from all PDF documents in a folder
  • create a watch folder - a record will be created for any full text PDF added to the folder

Indirect Export

From online databases and other reference management software

Import files saved as XML, BibTex or RIS.

Mendeley Web Catalog

Manually

Need help with Mendeley?

Bodleian Libraries workshops

For help with Mendeley please email reference-management@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Online Help