Skip to Main Content

Local History for Continuing Education: Maps

Maps - free online resources

Ordnance Survey Maps (National Library of Scotland)
Maps published by Ordnance Survey and related bodies (ca. 1840s-1960s). Includes England and Wales.
Old Maps Online
A portal to a number of digitised map collections.
British History Online
Includes Ordnance Survey 1:10,560 and 1:2.500 19th and early 20th century maps.
Ordnance Survey Open Data
Limited free products from the Ordnance Survey.

Online maps - subscription resources

Digimap
A key resource for digital mapping and includes historic Ordnance Survey maps from mid 1800s to the early 1900s. Maps can be viewed on screen, saved for printing or downloaded as data for use in GIS. Please note that a Single Sign On is required, even if you are using a PC connected to the Oxford network.

Bodleian Libraries map collections

The Bodleian Libraries have extensive printed map collections as well as excellent digital mapping facilities.

A good starting point for finding information about map collections is the guide 'Finding aids for Maps'. This includes instructions for using Map Search on SOLO.

You may also find the Bodleian Library Map Room website useful.

Last Updated: Aug 2, 2024 11:18 AM
URL: https://libguides.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/localhistory_continuingeducation
Print Page

Website feedback

Accessibility Statement - https://visit.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/accessibility

Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout

© Bodleian Libraries 2021. Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International Licence