Oxford LibGuides: Islamic legal tradition: Sources

The Qurʾān (Holy Koran), Sunna & Hadith

In a religious legal system, the primary sources are the word of God and how the prophet(s) brought this into practice via their words, deeds etc.

Tanzil Project - Quran Navigator
Open Access. Includes audio and English translation

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'ān Online
Remote access requires Oxford SSO
Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, and with nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, Brill's EQ is an encyclopaedic dictionary of koranic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis, extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within koranic studies.

The Qur'ān concordance
Remote access requires Oxford SSO Finding aide issued alongside the Brill encyclopedia above
more...less...
The Qurʾān Concordance Online consists of a typeset version of the King Fuʾād I Edition (Cairo 1924) of the text of the Qurʾān, as well as a coded representation of the Arabic script skeleton based on the earliest manuscripts.

The Sunna and Hadith (sayings/teaching/practices/actions) are the legacy of the Prophet Muhammad. Hadith collections reflect the traditions of Sunni and Imami Shiʿite Islam.

Arabic is the liturgical language of Islam. Below are some works in English as starting points:

Al-Muwatta of Imam Malik ibn Anas : the first formulation of Islamic law by Mālik ibn Anas, -795; translated by Aisha Abdurrahman Bewley.
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9780710303615
Publication Date: 1989
A print copy can be requested from Closed Stacks if preferred
Hadith : Muhammad's legacy in the medieval and modern world by Jonathan A. C. Brown
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link
ISBN: 9781851686636
Publication Date: 2009
Print copy in Bodleian Philosophy and Theology Library: Ground Floor Reading Room Open Shelves - BP135.6.B7 BRO 2009 or a copy could be requested from Closed Stack
Islamic law by edited by Gavin N. Picken
Call Number: Islamic P594.5a (4 volumes)
ISBN: 0415470765
Publication Date: 2011
Volume I: Origins and Sources The Primacy of Revelation. The Quran. Hadith and Sunna. Ijmfi. Qiys. Subsidiary Sources of Law. Ijtihd. Volume II: The Genesis of Legal Theory and the Schools of Law Malik B. Anas (d. 179/795) and the Muwatta al-Shafii (d. 204/820). Contemporaneous Juristic Activity. Evolution of the Schools. Volume III: Consolidation and 'Stagnation' Ijtihad and Taqlid. Muftis and Qadis. Consolidation of the Schools. Volume IV: Islamic Law in the Modern World Islamic Law and the State. The Reconstruction of Tradition. The Study of Islamic Law in the West.

Bibliography

Islamic studies bibliography included in collection below offering "... peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable."

Oxford Bibliographies
Remote access requires Oxford SSO. Open browse by subject option and click on Islamic Studes
Alternative names: OBO ; Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies are comprehensive subject bibliographies, which provide an up-to-date overview of the most recent and authoritative scholarship in a given field. Oxford Bibliographies provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Every article in the database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations. The modules include:
African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Evolutionary Biology, Geography, Hinduism, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Literary and Critical Theory, Management, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, Victorian Literature.