Oxford LibGuides: India : legal resources: Cases

Indian cases: online sources

India is a common law country, so therefore law reports are the primary source of law, and the concepts of precedent and stare decisis do apply.

For primary sources of case law online, you can access the major law reports series for the Supreme Court of India and for subsidiary and regional courts via two of our subscription databases, or from the other free websites below:

Manupatra Extra username and password are required for this resource. See Username and password webpage for details
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative name: Manupatra - Indian Law and Business

Indian legal and business information.
Please use one username and password set from the options. If it does not work please try the other. Each allows single user access only - so please remember to log off properly when you have finished your session in Manupatra.
Provided through the generosity of global law firm, Baker & McKenzie.
Supreme Court Cases (India) This resource requires you to register before use.
Alternative names: SCC (India) ; SCC Online

Indian legal information. Legislation, treaties, and case law from the Indian Supreme Court and the High Courts of the Indian states, and the Bangladesh Appellate and High Court Divisions.
NOTE: To access the service please register with an .ox.ac.uk email address. Instructions are on the Username and password webpage.
Lexis+ UK
Click on International link below search box on Lexis home page to find to Indian specific search box - and way to drill down futher into Indian sources by category.: case law, legislation and secondary sources
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included

If your research interest has historical dimension try also

LLMC-digital
Alternative names: LLMC ; Law Library Microfilm Consortium’s Online Service ; LLMC Digital

LLMC-digital is a collection of English language legal titles and government documents divided into ten major jurisdictional or subject areas:
US Federal Government; US States and Territories; Canada; United Kingdom; Germany federal; Germany state, kingdoms and free cities; Other Countries (Afghanistan to Zimbabwe); International Law and Organizations; Indigenous Law covering materials from various regions of the United States, Canada and Indonesia; and Special Focus Collections which includes British Empire Studies, Canon Law, Islamic Law, Military Law, Native American Collection, Roman law, etc.

Available to anyone with access to the internet

Supreme Court of India
Official website
Legal Information Institute of India (LIIofIndia)
OA resource A member of the global Free Access to Law Movement
Advocate Khoj
Free resource. Access Supreme Court Judgments by year.
Indian Kanoon
Please note: Oxford/the Bodleian does not have a subscription to this service. But its free functions can still be useful

Citation

Indian Law Institute Legal Citation Style
The Institute has formulated a set pattern of footnoting, which is followed in The Journal of Indian Law Institute, Annual Survey of Indian Law and various other publications of the Institute.
Downloaded from ILI website 2023

Indian law reports in the LawBod

On Level 1, one floor beneath the entrance level, is a strong collection of historic law reports in print.

Official & Semi-Official Reports

All India Reporter (reports Supreme Court & other High Court decisions) Cw India 100 A10

Supreme Court Reports (official annotated Supreme Court Decisions) Cw India 100 S30

Indian Law Reports series

(ILR - by region, but many of these have been cancelled in print as they Cw India 100 I30-55

are available online via Manupatra)