Oxford LibGuides: Competition law: Legislation and cases

Legislation

Lexis+ UK
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://plus.lexis.com/uk/xhome?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
Westlaw Edge UK
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is provided through a generous donation by Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP
Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.

Online resources available to all with access to the internet

Legislation.gov.uk
Open access. Official site Use the drop down menu TYPE to limit search to public general acts or statutory instruments or browse by year etc. Excellent for original, historic version (text of act as originally promulgated) and Explanatory Notes for more recent legislation. Pay attention to the current status which is given for each act. More has further details of coverage
more...less...
All primary legislation from 1988
All secondary legislation from 1987, including UK Statutory Instruments, Scottish Statutory Instruments and Northern Ireland Statutory Rules. In addition we hold a selection of secondary legislation from 1948-1986, and selected pre-1948 Statutory Rules and Orders
Legislation originating from the EU as set out in Schedule 5 to the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 (c. 16) along with corrigenda (correction slips for EU legislation) and EU Directives published up to the end of the EU Exit Implementation Period at 11:00 p.m. on 31 December 2020 ("IP completion day").
Most types of primary legislation (e.g. Acts, Measures, N.I. Orders in Council) are held in 'revised' form, as well as selected secondary legislation, and legislation originating from the EU:

Public General Acts of the United Kingdom Parliament (1801 to date)
Acts of the Parliament of Great Britain (1707 – 1800)
Acts of the English Parliament (1267 – 1706)
Acts of the Old Scottish Parliament (1424 – 1707)
Acts of the Scottish Parliament (1999 to date)
Acts of Senedd Cyrmu (2020 to date)
Acts of the National Assembly for Wales (2012 to 2020)
Measures of the National Assembly for Wales (2008 – 2011)
Acts of the Irish Parliament (1495 – 1800)
Acts of the Parliament of Northern Ireland (1921 – 1972)
Measures of the Northern Ireland Assembly (1974)
Orders in Council made under the Northern Ireland Acts (1972 to date) (effectively the primary legislation for Northern Ireland under direct rule, though in the form of Statutory Instruments)
Acts of the Northern Ireland Assembly (2000 – 2002 and 2007 to date)
Church of England Measures (1920 to date)
UK Statutory Instruments (2018 to date)
Scottish Statutory Instruments (2018 to date)
Welsh Statutory Instruments (2018 to date)
Statutory Rules of Northern Ireland (2018 to date)
European Regulations (1958 to 31 December 2020)
European Decisions (1953 to 31 December 2020)
European Directives (1959 to 31 December 2020)

BAILII
Alternative names: British and Irish Legal Information Institute ; British & Irish Legal Information Institute

Free access to British and Irish judgments. General coverage starts mid 1990s, though earlier key judgments are also included. Bailii also includes a subject arrangement of judgments. The judgments are transcripts and do not include arguments of counsel or headnotes. For a wider selection of Law Reports please see Justis, Lexis or Westlaw.

European Union

Summaries of EU legislation: Competition
Part of official Eur-Lex website - drill down to find links to the relevant legislation.

EUR-Lex
Alternative name: EurLex

EU primary documents including full text treaties, secondary legislation, preparatory legislation, cases and parliamentary documents.
EUR-Lex provides direct free access to European Union law. Here you can consult the Official Journal of the European Union as well as the treaties, legislation, case-law and legislative proposals. You can also use the extensive search facilities available on EUR-Lex.
The website offers direct access to the Official Journal of the EU online including the latest issues of the L (Legislation) and C (Information and Notices) series of the Official Journal, together with the previous 10 days’ issues. Entering the date and the publication reference, allows direct access to a particular issue of the Official Journal. Lastly, there is the possibility of consulting the issues of the Official Journal made available online since 1998.

Foreign jurisdictions

Law Bod guides to national jurisdictions

Case law

Lexis+ UK
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://plus.lexis.com/uk/xhome?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
Westlaw Edge UK
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is provided through a generous donation by Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP
Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
BAILII
OA source of transcripts (not reports) of UK and Irish court judgments
Alternative names: British and Irish Legal Information Institute ; British & Irish Legal Information Institute

Free access to British and Irish judgments. General coverage starts mid 1990s, though earlier key judgments are also included. Bailii also includes a subject arrangement of judgments. The judgments are transcripts and do not include arguments of counsel or headnotes. For a wider selection of Law Reports please see Justis, Lexis or Westlaw.
Find Case Law - Judgments and decisions from 2003 onwards
Free access to judgments and decisions of United Kingdom courts and tribunals. As of June 2023 coverage is of decisions from the superior courts of record – the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, the High Court, and the Upper Tribunals – and from 2003 onwards. The decisions are provided in the form of transcripts of judgments only: they do not include arguments of counsel nor headnotes. Holders of an Oxford SSO are reminded that Westlaw Edge UK, Lexis + UK and i-law are the subscription databases which provide them with published reports of UK judgments.

The UK Competition Appeal Tribunal (CAT) "is a specialist judicial body with cross-disciplinary expertise in law, economics, business and accountancy whose function is to hear and decide cases involving competition or economic regulatory issues." (Description from CAT's homepage.)

Neurtal citation is [yyyy] CAT #

Competition Appeals Tribunal
The Competition Appeal Tribunal Rules 2015 (SI 2015 No.1648)
All cases commenced on or after 1 October 2015 are governed by the Competition Appeal Tribunal Rules 2015.
Competition and Markets Authority (UK) cases
Official website searchable database

European Union

Curia (EU court judgments)
Free resource. Database for EU case law since 17/06/1997. For earlier caselaw, see EUR-Lex
Application of EU Competition rules by national courts
Part of official EU Commission website "Article 15(2) of Regulation 1/2003 requires Member States to forward to the Commission a copy of any written national court judgment on the application of Article 101 or 102 TFEU. These judgments must be sent "without delay after the full written judgment is notified to the parties".
The non-confidential versions of these judgments are published in this database as a source of case practice, as well as providing an overview of the activities of national courts in their role as enforcers of EU competition law. Judgments are published in the original language, are sorted by Member State and filed chronologically. Below the database itself you will find the latest updates to this database."

EUR-Lex
Alternative name: EurLex

EU primary documents including full text treaties, secondary legislation, preparatory legislation, cases and parliamentary documents.
EUR-Lex provides direct free access to European Union law. Here you can consult the Official Journal of the European Union as well as the treaties, legislation, case-law and legislative proposals. You can also use the extensive search facilities available on EUR-Lex.
The website offers direct access to the Official Journal of the EU online including the latest issues of the L (Legislation) and C (Information and Notices) series of the Official Journal, together with the previous 10 days’ issues. Entering the date and the publication reference, allows direct access to a particular issue of the Official Journal. Lastly, there is the possibility of consulting the issues of the Official Journal made available online since 1998.

Foreign jurisdictions

Report series in print

The LawBod shelves its series of British Isles law reports on Level 2, the floor at which you enter the library.

A specialist series you may not have encountered before is

United Kingdom Competition Law Reports at Cw UK 120 U50

Law reports of European Union or European national jurisdictions are on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level.
Law reports from other foreign jurisdictions are on Level 1, one floor below the entrance level.