The Weston Library provides access to a great wealth of Special Collections which support research in many different fields. Our holdings range from early papyrus manuscript fragments to modern digital archives, as well as significant collections of rare books and printed ephemera, in languages from Aramaic to English to Urdu. Academics, students and independent researchers are all welcome.
The Bodleian Map Room holds an international collection of over 1 million maps, both current and historical. Follow the link above for information about finding aids to help you find and use maps and related materials in our collection.
The Bodleian Library’s Music collection is one of the largest and most important in the country. Follow the link above for information on how to locate music materials for consultation in the Weston Library. For a general overview of the history and scope of the Music collection, see the Weston's Music web site.
Electronic Legal Deposit items are materials that Oxford has received under Legal Deposit legislation, which entitles the Bodleian Libraries to a copy of every item published in the UK. Legal Deposit has historically only covered printed items. However, in 2003 new legislation was passed which extended Legal Deposit to electronic publications and it came into force in April 2013.
The Visual Resources Centre contains over 90,000 35mm slides of art and architecture from classical antiquity to the present day; a rare collection of over 65,000 glass lantern slides from the nineteenth and early twentieth century and a number of photographic collections.
The Official Papers collection consists of: parliamentary papers and proceedings of the UK Parliament dating from the 16th century to present day; papers and proceedings of the devolved assemblies, Scottish Parliament and the Republic of Ireland; an excellent collection of departmental publications; principal collections of many international organisation, notably the Library has depository library status for the UN, ICAO and the ILO.
Guidance on US government publications held in Oxford (mostly in the Vere Harmsworth Library) and available online, both for current and historic information. Includes Legislative/Congressional Resources; Executive/Presidency Resources; Foreign Relations; Censuses/Statistics
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout