Oxford LibGuides: German Language and Literature: Free Online Resources

Free online resources

LibriVox
Public domain audiobooks, with over 2000 titles in the German language.

OERs are any type of teaching and/or learning materials that are freely available in the public domain, published under open licenses. Those listed below are applicable to the study of philosophy.

Future Learn
A diverse selection of courses from leading universities and cultural institutions from around the world.
MERLOT
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
open.conted
The gateway to Open Educational Resources and other freely available resources created or selected by tutors of the University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education.
Open Learn
Free resources on German language and culture provided by the Open University.

Black Central Europe
We bring you over 1000 years of Black history in the German-speaking lands and show you why it matters right now
Das Heinrich Heine portal
The portal is an integrated information system about the complete works of Heinrich Heine. The basis of the digital portal are the volumes of the Düsseldorf Historical-Critical Heine Edition (DHA) and the volumes of letters from the Weimar Heine Secular Edition (HSA). In addition, the resulting research portal was supplemented by facsimiles of the work and letter manuscripts, image materials, sources and books from Heine's private library.
Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek
The Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek provides central access to digital images of books, documents and files, paintings, statues, installations, historical monuments as well as to films and music digitised by cultural and knowledge institutions like libraries, archives, museums, historical preservation agencies and media libraries as well as universities and other research institutions
Deutsches Textarchiv
The German Text Archive provides a basic collection of German-language texts across disciplines and genres with a focus from the early 16th to the early 20th century.
Goethe Institut Onleihe
An online ebook lending service from the Goethe Institute. Loans are free and expire automatically after 7 days. Register online to use the service.
Zentrales Verzeichnis Digitalisierter Drucke
The zvdd is the central index of digital copies of printed works from the 15th century to the present day created in Germany. It enables a uniform search, whereby you can search not only for titles and authors, but also for printers, printing locations or publication times and periods, as well as article titles, chapter headings and tables of contents.

DWDS (Das digitale Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache des 20. Jh
Gives detailed semantic and morphological information as well as information about collocation for contemporary German
Expanding German Studies bibliography
EGS seeks to make a contribution towards a more equitable curriculum in the field of German Studies by offering starting points for developing or adapting reading lists on German culture and providing a forum for sharing suggestions and experience.
http://www.germanlit.org/
This website provides very short introductions to some of the finest texts in German-language literature for educational purposes. The website includes recommendations for further reading, in the hope that, after a quick look at this website, readers will turn off their computer and read a book instead
Leo
A dictionary and online forum, also available as an app for Apple and Android.
Lexilogos
Site bringing together wide variety of dictionaries as well as a great deal of other useful information about German
literaturkritik.de/
A literary magazine publishing reviews of recently published works, as well as essays and articles.
WordReference
Multilingual online dictionary aggregating various sources, including Collins dictionaries.
Wörterbuchnetz
A portal to historical, regional and specialist dictionaries of German

Professor Fiedler taught German at the Taylor Institution in the early twentieth century. In 1929 he made use of the very latest technology, only available to private citizens for a couple of years, to record a language course onto gramophone records. The recording shows the concerns of the time when travelling - having a fire made up in your hotel room, having baggage conveyed from the train, and having refreshments brought to your train compartment. The scripts which Professor Fiedler worked from can be seen in the video. A transcript is available to download below.

Transcript of Fiedler's language course

JISCmail German Studies list
UK-based discussion list
Women in German Studies
UK-based discussion list
H-Germanistik
H-Germanistik dient zum Austausch von fachwissenschaftlichen Informationen zur deutschsprachigen Literatur vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart, einschließlich der Didaktik und Sprachwissenschaft sowie angrenzender komparatistischer, kulturwissenschaftlicher und interkultureller Gebiete mit germanistischem Bezug. Wir stellen Informationen aus den Bereichen Calls for Papers, Konferenzankündigungen, Stellenangebote, Stipendien und Vieles mehr auf diesen Seiten zur Verfügung.
H-German
H-German is one of the H-Net family of humanities networks sponsored by the Michigan State University. All together our more than 100 networks have over 60,000 subscribers in 90 countries. H-German is a daily Internet discussion forum focused on scholarly topics in German history. There are no chronological limits. The primary purpose for H-German is to enable scholars in history and related disciplines to easily communicate current research and research interests; to discuss new articles, books, papers, approaches, methods and tools of analysis; and to explore these issues as they relate to the teaching of German history.
Canadian Association for University Teachers of German
The mailing list for German Studies Canada / Études Allemandes Canada (GSC/EAC), which is the association for people teaching and researching German Studies within transdisciplinary contexts in Canada.
American Association of Teachers of German (AATG)
The mailing list for the American Association of Teachers of German (AATG)
North American Women in German
The mailing list of the Coalition of Women in German (WiG), which provides a democratic forum for all people interested in feminist approaches to German literature and culture or in the intersection of gender with other categories of analysis such as sexuality, class, race, and ethnicity.
German Studies CFP listserv
A mailing list for sharing Calls for Papers relating to German Studies.

Expanding German Studies
This is a collaborative resource to help rethink the German Studies curriculum across the UK. We host a database of texts in or about German-speaking culture (films, prose, drama, poetry and critical work) from perspectives that have historically gone unheard in German studies classrooms.
Language Centre Library
Has a good selection of language courses for self-study, newspapers, magazines and papers and recordings for the Modern Languages Final oral exams
Oxford German Network
The Oxford German Network is an initiative by the German department of the Faculty of Medieval and Modern Languages, University of Oxford, dedicated to productive cross-cultural cooperation involving schools, cultural organisations, businesses, and policy-makers.
Studying in Germany
An information portal about studying in Germany for Foreign Students

Disclaimer

We accept no responsibility for the content of these external websites, which may have their own terms and conditions.

German Language and Literature: Free Online Resources

Introduction

Free online resources

Disclaimer