Engineering: Web resources

ArXiv: Open access to 1,523,388 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

OSF Preprints: -  all subjects preprints repositories including Engineering.

Oxford University Research Archive (ORA) is the institutional repository for the University of Oxford and is home to the scholarly output of its research members. It holds publications, theses and research data.

Journals and Books

• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
  Global list of fully OA journals.
• Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
  Academic open access books from hundreds of publishers.
• CORE (COnecting REpositories) 
  An aggregation of open access content from UK and worldwide repositories and open access journals.
• BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) 
  About the 60% of the more than 120 million indexed documents are accessible for free (Open Access).
• Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) – A searchable international database of open access institutional repositories and their contents.

Browser extensions

Downloadable ‘apps’ for your internet browsers.

• Open Access Button – Automatically detects paywalled articles and presents an open access alternative
• Unpaywall – Searches Unpaywall’s database of millions of free scholarly articles each time you encounter a paywall.

Google Scholar is a search engine that provides a broad search of scholarly literature. It covers multiple disciplines and sources.

Using Google Scholar off campus

To get full-text links in your Google Scholar results, you must first tell Google Scholar that you have access to the University of Oxford library subscriptions by

• Selecting Settings from the top of the Google Scholar Home Page
• Selecting Library Links
• Searching for University of Oxford and selecting it from the list
• Saving your settings

You will now see 'Find it @ Oxford' links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text provided by library subscriptions.

This page contains links to Open Access Repositories and websites recommended for their content. Selected resources contain abstracts, full-text articles, technical reports, experimental data, and other technical information. 

Disclaimer: We do not take responsibility for the content of external websites.