Oxford LibGuides: Earth Sciences: Online resources

Free resources

OpenGeoscience
A free service from the British Geological Survey which includes maps, data, scans and photos.
Met Office Digital Library and Archive
Direct access to the Met Office's digital content.
National Oceanographic Library - Open Access Information and Data Resources
Open Access resources for earth and ocean sciences.
NERC Open Research Archive (NORA)
NORA is the Institutional Repository for research publications and outcomes of staff at the British Antarctic Survey, British Geological Survey, National Oceanography Centre, and UK Centre for Ecology & Hydrology.
Earthdata (NASA)
NASA's Earth Science Data Systems (ESDS) program promotes the full and open sharing of all data, metadata, documentation, models, images and research results, and the source code used to generate, manipulate, and analyse them.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that provides a broad search of scholarly literature. It covers multiple disciplines and sources.

It has advantages as it is easy to use but it sometimes shows non-academic materials and has limited search options.

Logging in to Google Scholar

You may not have access to everything in Google Scholar, but if you log in you can get access to everything Oxford has access to. To see these links in your Google Scholar results, you must first tell Google Scholar that you have access to the University of Oxford library subscriptions by following these steps.

Open Google Scholar and sign in via the Sign In button
Click on the Menu
Click Settings at the bottom of the left-hand menu
On the Settings page click on Library Links on the left hand menu
Type University of Oxford in the search box
Multiple options will appear tick University of Oxford - Fint it @ Oxford
Saving your settings by clicking the save button

You will now see 'Find it @ Oxford' links next to items in your Google Scholar results that you can use to access the full-text provided by library subscriptions.

You can also install the a Google Scholar extension to your browser. this will allow you to look up articles as you browse the internet.

Go to the Settings page as described in Logging in to Google Scholar
On the Settings page click on Button at the bottom of the left hand menu
Click on the link Install Scholar Button to look up papers as you browse.

Follow the instructions for your browser.

Finding Open access material

Journals and Books

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Global list of fully OA journals.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
Academic open access books from hundreds of publishers.
CORE (COnecting REpositories)
An aggregation of open access content from UK and worldwide repositories and open access journals.
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
About the 60% of the more than 120 million indexed documents are accessible for free (Open Access).
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR) – A searchable international database of open access institutional repositories and their contents.

Browser extensions

Downloadable ‘apps’ for your internet browsers.

Open Access Button – Automatically detects paywalled articles and presents an open access alternative
Unpaywall – Searches Unpaywall’s database of millions of free scholarly articles each time you encounter a paywall.