Oxford LibGuides: Local History: Free Online Resources

Introduction

In addition to resources the Bodleian Libraries purchases, there are a number of alternative free online resources to support the study of Local History. If you have any suggestions to help us expand this page, please contact library@conted.ox.ac.uk.

Free online resources

British History Online
British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles, including most volumes of the Victoria County History.
English Regional History and Record Societies
Links to most county history society websites, with lists of their publications.
British Association for Local History
Encourages and assists the study of Local History as an academic discipline and as a rewarding leisure pursuit for both individuals and groups. Their site includes a directory of some of the county and local history organisations.
A Vision of Britain Through Time
Allows you to search for 19th century historical statistics relating to a particular place; good collections of historical maps; a searchable collection of travel writing about Britain (mainly 18th and 19th century).
Connected Histories
Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources (both free and subscription) related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain. It has a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.
History Faculty library's diigo bookmarks for English history
A large collection of links to high quality websites for English history.

The following key resources provide free access to high quality academic resources.

Open Access materials via SOLO
Guide to accessing open access scholarly resources on SOLO and beyond.
MyJSTOR
If you register for MyJSTOR you will get access to 6 free JSTOR articles per month. This has been extended to 100 per month during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Peer-reviewed free open access journals.
Access to Research
Access to Research is an initiative which provides free access to academic e-journals in public libraries. Note that you cannot access them at home, only in libraries. You can find a full list of participating libraries as well as information about the journals included on the Access to Research website.

There are many older local history books which are out of copyright and which are available via the sites below.

Archaeology Data Service
A key database of resources on UK Archaeology and the Historic Environment from the Palaeolithic to the present day.
Use ARCHSEARCH to search and browse the Historic England National Record of the Historic Environment and other UK historic environment inventories.
Use LIBRARY to access unpublished fieldwork reports; to search references to archaeological literature (especially older publications); to access a number of journal titles, including older issues of local history society journals.
Historic England
The Historic England (formerly English Heritage) website includes links to the Historic England Archive where you can access photographs, reports from the Royal Commission on Historic Monuments and the full text of many Historic England Research Reports.
Heritage Gateway
The website provides access to local and national records on the historic environment including Historic Environment Records, Historic England Research Records (replaces PastScape), and records from the National Trust Historic Buildings Sites and Monuments Record.

Disclaimer

We accept no responsibility for the content of these external websites, which may have their own terms and conditions.