Computer Science: Keeping up-to-date

arXiv.org is a repository of papers from Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Click on:

1. Help (top right)
2. To Subscribe to E-Mail Listings, under User Accounts

to learn more about how to sign up to receive an email each morning with the latest arXiv additions. 

Search Alerts

Many bibliographic databases allow you to set search alerts which will automatically inform you of new publications issued on topics that are of interest to you.

To set up a search alert you will normally have to take 4 steps:

1. Set up a personal account on the database you wish to use, this will allow you save searches and alerts.
2. Create your search and run it to check the results.
3. Save the search as an alert.
4. Set up the details of the alert by indicating how you would like to receive the alert (via E-mail or RSS feed) and with what frequency.

Citation Alerts

Citation alerts can be set to automatically notify you when a particular research article or conference paper is cited by a new publication appearing in a bibliographic database.

Want to know who is citing you?

Some databases also allow you to set up citation alerts to an author rather than a single publication. You can use citation alerting to help you keep track of who is citing your own work. Citation alerts can be set up on scientific literature databases such as SCOPUS and Web of Science.

You can keep up with developments in services and resources at the RSL in several ways.

• RSL Website
• RSL Facebook
• RSL Twitter

For more information on citation measurement and tracking, please see the following guide:

RSS feed stands for Really Simple Syndication or Rich Site Summary.

You will need a RSS reader or aggregator such as The Old Reader or Feedly to display news and updates from selected websites.

You can subscribe to RSS feeds from databases, e-journals, and websites. To subscribe to a feed, click on the RSS icon, and copy and paste the URL into your RSS reader.

Disclaimer: We do not take responsibility for the content of external web sites.