Oxford LibGuides: The Caucasus and Central Asia: Free online resources

Free online resources

BBC News: Azərbaycanca
BBC News Azerbaijani language services homepage.
BBC News: O'zbek
BBC News Uzbek language services homepage. Employs mostly Cyrillic script, though the Afghan Uzbek radio services were once published in Arabic script and are now published in Latin script.
BBC News: Кыгыз кызматы
BBC News Kyrgyz language services homepage.
BBC News: پښتو
BBC News Pashto language services homepage.
Eurasianet
Eurasianet is an independent news organization that covers news from and about the South Caucasus and Central Asia, providing on-the-ground reporting and critical perspectives on the most important developments in the region.
Georgia Today
Georgia Today is an English-language news website aimed at disseminating information about Georgia to high school and university students in the anglophone world.
Oxu.az
Oxu is a leading news site in Azerbaijan with Azerbaijani and Russian-language versions.
Արմենպրես
Արմենպրես (Armenpress) is the website of the official state news agency of the Republic of Armenia. It has services in Armenian, English, Russian, French, Turkish, Arabic, and Spanish.
ئەركىن ئاسىيا رادىيوسى
Radio Free Asia news service in Uyghur. The default script is the Uyghur Arabic Script; however, links at the top will change the encoding to Latin or Cyrillic.
პუბლიკა
პუბლიკა (Publika) is a popular Georgian news site in Georgian.

Dictionnaire Calfa
Calfa is a publicly available online lexicon between Classical Armenian and French.
Eastern Turki Glossary
A modest dictionary in English for the literary Turkic of Xinjiang/Eastern Turkistan during the 19th and early 20th centuries, sometimes known as Eastern Late Chaghatay or Eastern Turki.
Lugat.tj
An online Tajik-English-Russian dictionary.
Lughet
A dictionary for modern Uyghur that can translate into and out of multiple languages, though searches into or out of Uyghur, Chinese, and English are the best developped.
Qamusona
Massive aggregator of Pashto dictionaries to and from multiple languages
Sozdik
An online Russian <> Kazakh dictionary. Employs Cyrillic and Latin scripts for Kazakh.
Zangori Kema
A fairly thorough Uzbek <> English dictionary. Employs the Latin script.
ТЫЛДЬЫТ: Саха тылын быһаарыылаах улахан тылдьыта
A comprehensive Russian-Sakha (a.k.a. Yakut) dictionary.

Afghanistan Digital Library
New York University's Afghanistan Digital Library will retrieve and restore works published in Afghanistan between 1870 and 1930; the long-term objective is to collect, catalogue, digitize and provide access to as many of this period's publications as possible.
Alisher Navoiy nomidagi O'zbekiston Milliy Kutubxonasi
The online catalogue of the Alisher Navoiy National Library of Uzbekistan.
Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection
The University of Nebraska Omaha Criss Library holds the Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection, one of the largest collections of Afghan primary and secondary materials outside of the country. It contains over 20,000 titles in more than 20 languages, including Dari, Pashto, and English.
Asnad.org
An Image Database of Persian Historical Documents from Iran, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. The Project aims at facilitating access to the growing number of available Persian historical deeds and documents, both published and unpublished. It shall allow work on archival material with the help of incorporated facsimiles without recourse to the original - often remote - place of publication or storage.
British Library: Central Asia
The British Library's Central Asian collections range from the 4th century AD to the present day and cover the languages and cultures of Asia from the Caucasus as far as China in the east, and from Afghanistan to Russia in the north.
LexUz Online
The national database of legislation of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

Monumenta Altaica
Monumenta Altaica acts as a massive repository of information on the languages, histories, and cultures of "Altaic" peoples. Whether you subscribe to a version of the Altaic hypothesis or not, it is an excellent resource with materials on multiple Turkic languages, living and dead, including many important primary sources.
Silk Road Seattle
University of Washington's portal for information on the Silk Road with translations of various primary source documents and basic information on broader Central Asia, mostly focused on the early Middle Ages and before.
WorldLII: Central Asia
The World Legal Information Institute is a joint project of the University of Technology Sydney and the University of New South Wales providing free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law-related resources.
Тюрко-Татарский Мир
The Tatar Studies portal of the the Institute of History at the Tatarstan Academy of Sciences.

The Caucasus and Central Asia: Free online resources

Introduction

Free online resources

Disclaimer