Oxford LibGuides: Catalan: Free Online Resources

Free online resources

OERs are any type of teaching and/or learning materials that are freely available in the public domain, published under open licenses.

Parla.cat
Parla.cat is a virtual learning space that offers all the educational materials for learning the Catalan language. The course can be done with a self-managed learning method or a method with a tutor.

Biblioteca de Catalunya
Digitised holdings of the Biblioteca de Catalunya, including magazines and newspapers, manuscripts and personal archives, printed books, visual materials, and music.
Biblioteca Virtual Joan Lluís Vives
The Biblioteca Virtual Joan Lluís Vives aims to promote and disseminate digitised texts and information about authors, literature, and culture of the Catalan-speaking countries. The site has a number of thematic portals, including Contemporary Catalan Poetry, as well as author-focused portals and spotlights on key libraries and institutions.
Ramon Llull Database
The Ramon Llull Database offers information on works and manuscripts of Llull and Lullist authors, as well as editions of works containing a bibliography on him or on Lullism, and catalogues and inventories of Lullian works.
World Digital Library
A digital library of primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
El Punt Avui
Catalan daily newspaper, formerly two separate publications (El Punt and Avui).
El Periódico de Catalunya
Catalan daily paper, also published in Castilian.
Diari de Girona
Girona regional paper.
Diari de Balears
Regional paper for the Balearic Isles, including Mallorca, Menorca, Eivissa (Ibiza), and Formentera.

Institut d'Estudis Catalans: Dictionaries, Grammars & Reference tools
A range of dictionaries, grammars, orthographies, vocabularies and other language resources from the Institut d'Estudis Catalans.
Catalan Literature Online
Reference site with biographical and bibliographical information on a range of Catalan authors.
Diccionari.cat
Online monolingual dictionary from the publishers of the Enciclopèdia Catalana.
enciclopedia.cat
A wide offering of online dictionaries and reference sources from Grup Enciclopèdia.
DIDAC
Monolingual dictionary designed for children, with simple clear definitions.
Diccionari de la Llengua Catalana - multilingue
Multingual dictionary with simple translations into English, French and German.
Open Source English-Catalan Dictionary Project
An online English-Catalan dictionary with usage notes and examples for speakers & learners of both languages.
The site also provides a Catalan verb conjugator.
Poetàrium
Portal on contemporary Catalan poetry created by the Institut Ramon Llull. Provides bibliographies, short biographies and videos on key contemporary authors.

Institut d'Estudis Catalans
The IEC is the most significant Catalan research institution. As well as scholarly research in the areas of history, archeology, philosophy, social sciences, science, technology and medicine, the Institut has a specific remit for research in all areas of culture of the Catalan -speaking countries.
Fundació Paulí Bellet
The Fundació Paulí Bellet is non-profit organization created in 1987 to support and promote Catalan culture and literature in the United States. However, they also maintain a useful list of Catalan resources online, from dictionaries, verb conjugators and grammars to literature, newspapers, TV and radio channels.
Institut Ramon Llull
The Institut Ramon Llull is a public body created in 2002, with the aim of promoting Catalan language and culture in academic institutions abroad, as well as the translation of Catalan works and the development of Catalan cultural activities such as theatre, cinema, dance, music, visual arts, design, and architecture. The Institut supports Catalan language teaching abroad and manages language accreditations.