The Middle English Dictionary offers a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500. This electronic version of the MED preserves all the details of the print MED, but is searchable in ways impossible within any print dictionary.
The MED is part of the Middle English Compendium, which has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.
The Bosworth-Toller Anglo-Saxon Dictionary
Records the state of the English language as it was used between ca. 700-1100 AD by the Anglo-Saxon inhabitans of the British Isles.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 500,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world. The OED Online also features the Historical Thesaurus of the OED, which arranges the dictionary by meaning.
N.B. The current online version of the OED is derived from the printed second edition of 1989, which is in turn based on the original edition published 1884-1928. A full revision of the OED for its third edition began in the late 1990s. This is a large-scale, long-term undertaking. As of 2022, just over half of entries in the online edition have been updated. The dates of the latest upload for each entry can be seen at the top right of each page (in blue font). However, bear in mind that not all entries have been fully revised since their publication (apart from bibliographical standardisation), so it is always worth checking the latest date of quotations provided to illustrate a word's use, in order to ascertain how up-to-date the entry is as a whole, including the definitions and editorial comments, if any.
The Thesaurus of Old English, created by the University of Glasgow, groups words conceptually and the vocabulary of Anglo-Saxon England is presented within categories.
