Oxford LibGuides: Bulgarian Language and Literature: Journals & Newspaper Articles

Bulgarian and Slavonic e-journals

CEEOL
Offers full-text access to journals in many subject areas including several on language and literature: Études balkaniques, Bulgarski Folklor, Literaturna misul, Starobulgarska literatura

Online journals

Here are some examples of some journals which can be accessed through the 'Find e-journal' link. Note sometimes access may only be to back-numbers and may not include the most recent issues.

The Slavic and East European Journal

The Slavonic and East European Review

How to locate journal articles

If you are working from a reading-list and if you have a reference the first step is to go to Database A-Z and select a bibliographical database. The following databases have material relevant to Bulgarian and Slavonic language and literature. Most of the articles indexed in these databases will be in English and other European languages.

Note: You can only find journal articles in these databases. You will NOT find journal articles in the online library catalogue (unless you do a Journal articles search on SOLO!)

Find e-journal
Find e-journal is an A-Z of over 28,000 e-journals. It is an excellent tool for finding and connecting to journals by title and is useful when you know the name of the journal you wish to use (e.g. from a reading list). It is not suitable for keyword or author searching.
MLA (Modern Language Association International Bibliography)
Provides over one million citations for items from journals and series published worldwide. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Coverage 1926 to present, updated nine times per year.
ABSEES (American bibliography of Slavic and East European studies)
Offers a bibliography to Slavic and Eastern European studies, as well as Eurasian studies. Covering all subject areas, the majority of content is originally published in the US and Canada. This online database is current and up-to-date.
EBSEES (The European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)
Provides a European counterpart to ABSEES but note that it only covers the period 1991-2007
IMB (International Medieval Bibliography)
Comprises records deriving from articles published in periodicals (journals) published world-wide. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
JSTOR
Offers full-text access to good range of English-language journals in the Slavonic field. Does not offer access to current issues but only to back-issues. Typically a gap of 1-5 years between most recently published journal and the back-issues available to JSTOR

Bulgarian Language and Literature: Journals & Newspaper Articles

Bulgarian and Slavonic e-journals

Online journals

How to locate journal articles

Bulgarian journals

Bulgarian printed journals

Bulgarian newspapers