Archive of the weekly magazine Country Life from 1897-2005. Contains many articles on country houses and their gardens. Images from Country Life can be seen in the Country Life Picture Library
Here are some useful bibliographic databases for Garden History:
If you're looking for a particular journal article, you can search for the journal title in SOLO. SOLO will find references to both print and electronic journals. You can access e-journals from the PCs in the Library or any other PC on the University network. If you have a University card, you can access e-journals from any internet connection using your Single Sign On
You can use the Journal Articles search on SOLO to find articles on your topic - just click the 'Articles & More' tab and enter your search. You will be able to access many articles online. You can use all the usual SOLO tools for refining your search, sorting results and you can save results to your e-Shelf. For more information, see the SOLO Guide
You can also search for journal articles in Google Scholar and use the 'Find it @ Oxford' link to the to access electronic versions. Scholar is the largest database of scholarly literature and gives you quick, relevant results. However, it lacks search tools and gives too many results sometimes.
For more structured literature searching you should use a bibliographic database. These act as subject indexes to journals and often include conference papers, research reports, book extracts etc. as well. Most databases are linked to Oxford holdings - look for the 'Find it @ Oxford' link.
If you know the title of the database you wish to use (for example one of the Key Bibliographic Databases listed on this page) you can search for it on SOLO. To browse a list of available bibliographic databases, go to SOLO and enter a general subject area. Then select the 'Resource Type' drop down in the left hand column and then 'Databases' within that.
Using a bibliographic databases enables you to conduct a more precise search. You can also check the coverage of the database. Make use of on screen help and links to help text, Tutorials etc to get the best out of a database.
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary, full text archive of key scholarly journals. It is a very useful resource as you can use it to search for articles on your topic, but remember:
To access electronic journals and databases off campus:
Sign on to SOLO using your Single Sign On. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus.
The Single Sign On is available to all students on award bearing courses who hold a full University card
For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.
Here are some tips to get the best out of Google Scholar: