Oxford LibGuides: Manuscripts: Asian and Middle Eastern: Online & general catalogues

Search SOLO

SOLO (Seach Oxford Libraries Online)

Online & general catalogues

SOLO (Search Oxford Libraries Online)
All the oriental printed book collections with the exception of Chinese and Japanese are being catalogued in SOLO. The Bodleian Library Allegro Chinese and Allegro Japanese catalogues are also searchable via SOLO.
Archives Hub
A gateway to higher education archives in the UK, including brief descriptions of catalogued Bodleian manuscript collections
Searchable database of card catalogues of Oriental Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library
Uncatalogued Oriental manuscripts
A card catalogue containing index cards for uncatalogued manuscripts in Oriental languages, i.e. those not included in the printed catalogues listed here, including separate sections for Arabic manuscripts and the Chandra Shum Shere collection, and an index to donors and vendors. Find in the Charles Wendell David Reading Room.
Fihrist
The union catalogue for manuscripts in Arabic script
Catalogue of Cairo Genizah
Digitized copies of 4,000 fragments (about 25,000 pages) in Hebrew from the Bible, Early Rabbinic literature, liturgical fragments, legal documents and letters, both personal and commercial. Contains a complete scan of the unpublished 'Additional Genizah Fragments' catalogue by A.E. Cowley.
Descriptive catalogue of Tibetan manuscripts in the Bodleian
Oxford SSO required to access this resource
Bibliothecae Bodleianae codicum manuscriptorum orientalium, videlicet Hebraicorum, Chaldaicorum, Syriacorum, Aethiopicorum, Arabicorum, Persicorum, Turcicorum, Copticorumque catalogus. Vol.1
Digitised catalogue, best viewed in Firefox or Chrome.
Bibliothecae Bodleianae codicum manuscriptorum orientalium, videlicet Hebraicorum, Chaldaicorum, Syriacorum, Aethiopicorum, Arabicorum, Persicorum, Turcicorum, Copticorumque catalogus. Vol.2
Digitised catalogue.
Catalogi Codicum Manuscriptorum Bibliotecae Bodleianae: Codices Syriacos, Carshunicos, Mendaeos, complectens, [Volume 6]
by Robert Payne Smith (Oxford, 1864).
Catalogue of the Persian, Turkish, Hindûstânî, and Pushtû manuscripts in the Bodleian Library [Part 1]
by E. Sachau, H. Ethé & A.F.L.Beeston, pt. 1 (Oxford, 1889). [DIGITIZED COPY available through the Internet Archive]
Catalogue of the Persian, Turkish, Hindûstânî, and Pushtû manuscripts in the Bodleian Library [Part 2]
Beeston, A. F. L. (Alfred Felix Landon); Ethé, Hermann, 1844-1917.; Sachau, Eduard,1845-1930; Catalogue of the Persian, Turkish, Hindûstânî, and Pushtû manuscripts in the Bodleian Library, Oxford; at the Clarendon Press 1889-1953 [Digitized Version from MENADOC]
• Catalogue of the Persian, Turkish, Hindûstânî, and Pushtû manuscripts in the Bodleian Library [Part 3]
by E. Sachau, H. Ethé & A.F.L.Beeston, pt. 3 (Oxford, 1954). [DIGITIZED COPY available through the Internet Archive]
Catalogue of the Sanskrit and Prakrit Manuscripts in the Indian Institute Library
by A.B. Keith, 1903 [DIGITIZED COPY available via the Internet Archive.]
Catalogue of the Stein Collection of Sanskrit Manuscripts from Kashmir
by Clauson and MacDonell, 1912 [DIGITIZED COPY available via the Internet Archive]
UKIRA (UK Information Resources on Asia)
A searchable database for resource discovery in all subject areas of the humanities and social sciences relating to Asia, the Middle East and North Africa.

Subject Guide

Alasdair Watson