Oxford LibGuides: Geography and the Environment: Home

Finding books for Geography

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for Geography and printed books, including the main Geography collection in the Social Science Library. For more detailed info about our book collections visit our b ooks page of this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Geography below, but take a look at the Journals and other pages of this guide for more titles.

Scopus
SCOPUS is a multidisciplinary collection which has over 2 million journal articles covering human and physical geography, development studies, earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics and oceanography.
Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers over 25,000 journals and over 300,000 books from over 7,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 90 million records going back as far as the 18th century.
It includes the content from a number of other major databases: Medline (medicine) 1966 - , Embase (medicine) 1970 - , Compendex (engineering) 1970 - , Geobase (geography) 1980 - .
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with a large social science collection including many geography and the environment journals.
Alternative names: WoK ; WoS ; Web of Knowledge. Provides access to and cross-searching of databases in the science, technology, engineering, mathematics, medicine, social sciences and humanities. It includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Data Citation Index. Also provides access to Journal Citation Reports for sciences and social sciences.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection‎
Proquest Social Science Premium searches a broad range of social science related academic journals and other academic sources of information.
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Included databases:
Criminology Collection
Education Collection
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Library & Information Science Collection
Linguistics Collection
Politics Collection
Social Science Database
Royal Geographical Society - Wiley Digital Archives - (1478-1953, History of Geography, Colonization and Climate Science in the British Empire)
Royal Geographical Society, 1478-1953, History of Geography, Colonization and Climate Science in the British Empire, by Wiley Digital Archives

The Royal Geographical Society (RGS) covers history of geography
exploration, colonization and de-colonization, anthropology, law, climate science, gender studies, cartography, and environmental history throughout the British Empire from ~1478 to 1953. The archive contains manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, proceedings, maps, charts, atlases, photographs, surveys, data and ephemera, all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives program.

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online databases.

Librarian

Andrew Kernot

Email Me

Contact:

Social Science Library,
Manor Road,
Oxford,
OX1 3UQ

01865 271072

Subjects: Geography, Geography and the Environment, Geography and the Environment - General

Related guides

Earth Sciences
by Rachel Scanlon Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 103 views this year
Environmental Law
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 409 views this year

Key libraries

Social Science Library
The Social Science Library (SSL) is one of the University of Oxford's busiest lending and reference libraries, supporting staff and students in the Social Sciences Division. We offer a wide range of workspaces, as well as borrowing services, printing and IT facilities and research support.

Reading lists for Geography

Reading lists on Canvas
Readings lists for Oxford Geography students are available in Canvas (SSO required)

Geography and the Environment: Home

Purpose of this guide