Skip to Main Content

Migration Studies: Data & Statistics

Webinar

Data in Europe: Migration

CESSDA Training Group's webinar introduces information on how to find and access data from European social science data archives.

Materials from the webinar:

Risk, Conflict, and Country Reports

CIAO: columbia international affairs online

Interactive maps provide access to country reports provided by the Economist Intelligence Unit.

Political Risk Services (PRS)

PRS Researcher's Dataset: ICRG T3B - Political Risk (CD-ROM)
International Country Risk Guide (PDF file)

Landscan

Landscan Global Population Database

A population database that maps geographical distribution of a populace within cells of one-kilometre resolution over a 24 hour period. This allows assessment, estimation and visualisation of populations reacting to disease outbreaks, social upheaval or natural disasters.
The modelling process uses sub-national level census counts and other data for each country combined with high resolution imagery analysis.

IMI Migration datasets

The International Migration Institute (IMI) collected primary data and compiled existing macro-data from archives and electronic sources, and has made several of the resulting datasets freely available.

DEMIG (Determinants of International Migration)

IMI's five-year programme (2010–2014), funded by the European Research Council, has compiled new migration flow, policy and visa databases, and generated a series of theoretical and empirical research papers.

  • DEMIG policy data
    tracks more than 6,500 migration policy changes enacted by 45 countries around the world mostly in the 1945-2013 period.
  • DEMIG TOTAL data
    reports immigration, emigration and net migration flows for up to 161 countries covering various periods of time from the early 1800s to 2011, disaggregating total flows of citizens and foreigners whenever possible.
  • DEMIG C2C (country-to-country) database
    contains bilateral migration flow data for 34 reporting countries and from up to 236 countries over the 1946–2011 period. It includes data for inflows, outflows and net flows, respectively for citizens, foreigners and/or citizens and foreigners combined, depending on the reporting countries.

EUMAGINE data

Imagining Europe from the Outside investigated the impact of perceptions of human rights and democracy on migration aspirations and decisions.

THEMIS data

Theorising the Evolution of European Migration Systems was a four-year project which took a fresh look at how patterns of migration to Europe develop.

Migration Statistics

Use these websites to find data and statistics for migration, immigration and refugees:

The UN Refugee Agency - UNHCR

Data, reports, maps related to refugees, asylum-seekers, internally displaced and stateless people.

OECD International Migration Statistics

Immigration statistics from the OECD.

USCRI: US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants

IDMC: Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre

Figures from the Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre.

Migration Policy Institute: MPI Data Hub

Migration facts, statistics and maps from the Migration Policy Institute.

CLANDESTINO

Database on irregular migration in Europe.

The Refugee Project

An interactive map of refugee migrations around the world in each year since 1975.

UK National Statistics

Borders and immigration statistics

If you are not sure where to search try Google Public Data Explorer, or use our custom Google Data Search

General Data Sources & Services

UK Data Service

A unified point of access to data from ESDS, Census Programme, Secure Data Service, and others.

Worldbank data

Access directly via the Databank or browse the data catalog.

UN Data

Internet-based data service providing a single entry point of UN statistical databases.

OECD iLibrary

Provides comprehensive access to OECD statistical data, books, journals and working papers released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), and its Development Centre.

The Global Health Observatory (GHO) database

The World Health Organization's main health statistics repository.

Development Data

Data on inequality, trade, aid, education, agriculture, migration, health, FDI, population, governance, private sector and debt, and to websites that host and/or catalogue household survey data.