Oxford LibGuides: Bioinformatics: Online resources

Bioinformatics at Oxford

CBRG
The Computational Biology Research Group provides bioinformatics support and training at Oxford University.

Core Bioinformatics Organisations

Each of these organisations provides access to a wealth of bioinformatics databases, software and reference literature. They can all be accessed freely over the web and do not require a subscription.

NCBI
The National Centre for Biotechnology Information is a central provider of bioinformatics resources and services in the US. Their extensive website provides guides and reference to all the services they support.
EMBL/EBI
The European Molecular Biology Laboratory and European Bioinformatics Institute. These databases provide access to all the bioinformatics data held be EMBL/EBI.
DDBJ
The DNA Data Bank of Japan.Access to databases, software tools and documentation provided by the DDBJ.

Bioinformatics Web Directories

The following directories provide hundreds of links to bioinformatics resources across the web.

Online Bioinformatics Resources Collection (OBRC)
An extensive, searchable database of bioinformatics tools and resources available on the web. Also searches journal articles describing particular resources. Simultaneous search of the BioMed Central Databases collection.
more...less...
This resource is maintained by the University of Pittsburgh.
WorldWideScience.org
WorldWideScience.org allows you to carry out simultaneous searchers across a range of international scientific databases. These include literature databases, publication repositories and data archives. The service is maintained by the U.S. Government's Office of Science and Technical Information (OSTI).

Online Bioinformatics Tutorials

There are many bioinformatics tutorials available on the web. Below are some suggestions from reputable organisations.

Train online
These online bioinformatics tutorials demonstrate how to use tools and databases supplied by EMBL-EBI to carry out a range of bioinformatics tasks.
more...less...
Topics covered include using the PDBe, Ensembl and UniProt.
Free Open Helix Resources
Open Helix provides a small number of free tutorials covering topics such as searching the RCSB Protein Data Bank.
more...less...
Please note that the majority of Open Helix tutorials are for subscribers only and that Oxford University does not hold a subscription.
Henry Stewart Talks
The Henry Stewart Talks provide recorded presentations from experts in many areas of biology. This series of talks on 'Using Bioinformatics in the Exploration of Genetic Diversity' provides practical examples of the applications of bioinformatics.
more...less...
This is a subscription resource available to Oxford University members. If you are off-campus you will need to sign in using your SSO (Single-Sign On) to access these talks.

National Bioinformatics Training

Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
The Sanger Institute in Cambridge provides many local and touring bioinformatics workshops throughout the year including their 'Open Door' series of workshops. Excellent training materials and manuals from previous courses can be download for free from the site mainly as .pdf files.